Skip to content

Peanut Butter Pasta

November 30, 2010

Yay, my first pasta post!  Many more to follow, but this is a great one to start out with.  Asian flavors pair perfectly with whole grain pasta, a natural compliment, so I always try to use some blend of whole wheat for this recipe.  I also like to use leftover chicken because it will cut down the cook time.  While the pasta is cooking, I combine the sauce and toss in the leftover chicken for an easy dinner.

Some may look at the ingredient list and then shy away from trying (I’m thinking of my mother right now).  I keep sweet chili Thai sauce in my refrigerator just for this recipe (I obviously feel it’s worth it).  And I have substituted sesame oil for canola oil.  I’m clearly on a red pepper kick because I try to add it to every meal.  Tonight, since I had one in the fridge and had the extra time, I chopped it up and sauted it in olive oil for a few minutes.

Ingredients
½ package of Whole Grain spaghetti (about 7 oz)
1 LB boneless skinless chicken breast, seasoned (Lemon Pepper seasoning preferred)
¾ cup creamy peanut butter
½ cup chicken broth or stock
¼ cup sweet chili Thai sauce
2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, or to taste
4 cloves of garlic, or to taste
1 cup pre-sliced carrots
Optional vegetables:  1 chopped, cooked red pepper, 1 – 2 cups chopped broccoli
Optional garnishes: finely chopped green onion, chopped cilantro, sprouts &/or chopped peanuts

Directions

  • In medium skillet, cook chicken in olive oil until cooked through (or bake) and chop into cubes; set aside.
  • Combine remaining ingredients, excluding vegetables, in a medium bowl (peanut butter, broth, Thai sauce, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, sesame oil, crushed red pepper & garlic).  Stir until smooth.  (Tip – I use warm broth, which helps smooth out the peanut butter.)
  • Meanwhile, cook and drain spaghetti according to package instructions.  Add broccoli during the last 3 or 4 minutes of cooking, if desired.
  • Combine sauce, spaghetti & broccoli, mixing until pasta is evenly coated.  Gently toss in chicken & carrots.
  • If desired, garnish with additional ingredients, such as green onion, cilantro, sprouts or peanuts.

So, it was a tasty meal tonight.  Husband asked to please consider using less crushed red pepper next time (it was pretty spicy)…I’ll think about it.

Enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. matt permalink
    December 13, 2010 3:28 am

    One of my favorite dishes!

  2. Tricia permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:21 pm

    This is one of my all time favorite dishes!! Too bad I can’t get my sister to make it for me 😉

  3. Lynette permalink
    January 12, 2011 5:35 am

    Going to try this! I will letbyou know how it goes!

  4. March 27, 2011 10:06 pm

    laura! we just made this and it was delicious! we hardly agree on any dishes and we both loved it. thanks!!

    • March 28, 2011 8:28 pm

      Love to hear that! I actually made this recipe tonight, too. I am going to add shelled edamame beans next time…

  5. March 4, 2012 7:56 am

    This sounds great! Pasta at first caught my eye, and then peanut butter. I’ll have to try this one!

Trackbacks

  1. Chicken Stir Fry « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Spotlight: Peanut Butter « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

