Skip to content

Cinnamon

December 13, 2010

Like a 2-for-1 special, this post will highlight two of my favorite things: cinnamon & oatmeal.  Odd favorites, but two of my favorites nonetheless.

First, I guess you can say that I have a reputation in my family of adding cinnamon, in abundance, to my recipes.  Whatever.  I’m talking about the spice, not the cinnamon-flavored gum or mints.  Cinnamon is the bark of a tropical evergreen tree.  While there are many different varieties, too.  Copper color with a sweet fragrance, cinnamon is known for its many health benefits….good for the heart, reduces blood sugar, lowers cholesterol and packed with antioxidants.  This lovely spice pairs nicely with so many foods, too.  Unfortunately, many of those dishes include sugar and butter, like cookies and cakes.  But many don’t…I add this spice to my whole wheat waffles and whole wheat pancakes.  I also sprinkle a bit in my coffee.  I would like to experiement with some savory dishes…I guess that’s next.

To me, the cinnamon + oatmeal combo is the most frequented partnership in my kitchen.  It just adds the right touch to my morning meal…a little color, a nice aroma and the perfect flavor.

In addition to cinnamon, I have tested many other additions.  My first recommendation, especially if you are only using the old fashioned quick oats (instead of the sugar-enriched packets), is a teaspoon of flavored coffee creamer.  Stir this (& the cinnamon) after cooking the oats & water.  Crushed nuts (such as pecans), flaxseed and fresh fruit (bananas, strawberries, blueberries) are all great add-ins.  I have also tried dried fruit (cranberries) & liked that.  Any other ideas?  I’ll keep trying…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. matt permalink
    December 13, 2010 3:26 am

    cinnamon is delicious.

  2. stephanie permalink
    January 13, 2011 3:56 am

    i feel like you’re reading my mind. i am positively in love with oatmeal. i’ll eat it for breakfast or lunch… or even dinner if i should feel the urge. i too stay away from the pre-sweentened packages and just like the straight up oats. i typically stir in (lots of) brown sugar or honey, plus some almonds and raisins or craisins. i love this creamer idea. how novel is that? but the cinnamon!?! how have i not thought of that before! my bowls of oatmeal will forever be changed (for the better)! thanks laura!! 🙂

    • January 14, 2011 2:07 am

      You’re welcome:-). I can’t believe I forgot to mention honey!

Leave a Reply

