Skip to content

Chicken Stir Fry

January 11, 2011

Although this isn’t the prettiest recipe (I don’t know if any brown rice recipe is), it tastes good & is good for you.  Similar to my Peanut Butter Pasta, I like to make this recipe with leftover chicken.  I made a pasta recipe last night and saved half of the chicken for tonight.  I also diced up the onion, red pepper & garlic in advance.

Like most of my recipes, this one can vary based on what I have on-hand.  I don’t cook with peas often, but I usually have some in the freezer…except today apparently.  I did have sugar snap peas on-hand, which I tossed in for a little greenery.  I accidentally forgot to add carrots (which were in my fridge but somehow got skipped).  It is fine without them, but I really like carrots…you should see my salads.

Ingredients

2 cups brown rice
1 tbsp olive oil (sesame oil preferred)
1 onion, diced
1 red pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup sugar snap peas, if desired
1/2 cup frozen peas, if desired
2 eggs (sometimes I use 3)
1 1/2 cups cooked chicken, diced
1 cup carrots, sliced & chopped small
1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce, to taste
hot sauce or red pepper flakes, to taste

Directions

  • Cook brown rice according to package directions.  Season water well with 1 tbsp butter & salt or 1 chicken boullion cube.
  • Meanwhile, saute onion, red pepper & garlic in oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until soft (5 – 7 min).  Add sugar snap peas &/or peas, if desired; cook 2 min.
  • Add eggs, stirring frequently, until cooked through (2 – 4 min).
  • Add chicken, rice, carrots & soy sauce to skillet and mix well. 
  • Season with crushed red pepper or hot sauce & additional soy sauce as desired.  Additional salt may be needed if you did not season the rice well during cooking.

This recipe generally serves 4.  Extra chicken or rice can easily make it a bit heartier.  Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Ermeling permalink
    February 1, 2011 5:34 pm

    WOW!!! The pictures are awesome, Laura; what a fantastic idea. I am so going to try your oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe, as I just can’t resist. You are so talented; thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Lauren Hughey permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:51 pm

    Yum-O!

Leave a comment