Skip to content

Fruit Pizza

January 11, 2011
tags: ,

Talk about an deceivingly delicious dessert…this fruit pizza is it.  It’s probably my go-to recipe for entertaining.  It’s simple, perfect for making in advance, and most important, it’s delicious.  I have never had to throw out leftovers, let alone bring any home with me.

I used to make this exclusively in a pie shape…take a pre-made sugar cookie roll, flatten into a circle and bake.  It’s a nice presentation and really easy…I’m sure I’ll make it sometime and post it.  However, lately I found a shortcut of using store-bought sugar cookies which cuts the time a little bit.

I generally exclusively use strawberries as the fruit on top.  In the summer, blueberries are a nice addition.  I have also made this with apples and caramel topping…yum.

Ingredients

1 pkg store-bought sugar cookies (about 10)
1 8oz pkg cream cheese (1/3 less fat is preferred)
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 pint strawberries, sliced
Hard shell chocolate topping, to taste, optional

Directions

  • Slice strawberries and set aside.  Mix cream cheese, sugar & vanilla on low in a medium bowl until smooth.
  • Top each cookie with cream cheese spread and a few strawberry pieces.  Drizzle with chocolate sauce, if desired.
  • Refrigerate until you’re ready to serve.

Sprinkle with chocolate chips or chopped nuts, if desired.  Enjoy!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 12:33 am

    Hi Laura,

    I came across this recipe while “tag surfing.” My blog is about college health education programming and related health information.

    I was wondering if I could repost this recipe (link and credit given of course) on my blog? I love this recipe and I think it would be perfect for college students to make in their own dorms (very easy, inexpensive and it looks absolutely delicious!)

    Just let me know if I can repost and link this – thanks!

  2. Lynette permalink
    January 12, 2011 5:33 am

    I love this and am going to try!

  3. Jen permalink
    January 12, 2011 12:19 pm

    Laura, so excited to be on your blog! This is definitely one of my favorite recipes of yours. I made it at Mother’s day and my family raved about it. Can’t wait to try some of your other recipes. I’m saving this site to my favorites.

  4. stephanie permalink
    January 12, 2011 3:26 pm

    this recipe looks amazing! and, despite recent issues with baking at altitude, i will definitely be giving this a try. the photography is great! though i wonder if this fruit pizza will look quite as delicious in my less-well-lit kitchen 🙂 wonderful post and i am loving this blog!!!

  5. Julie permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:32 pm

    I have been enjoying your fruit pizza for many years. Love you and your blog. I am very excited about it actually.

  6. January 14, 2011 2:04 am

    Thanks, friends. Can’t wait to share more recipes!

  7. matt permalink
    January 16, 2011 11:37 pm

    Delicious

  8. Jessica permalink
    May 28, 2011 12:34 am

    I just made these today and they were so yummy! Thank you so much! :] There will definitely be more in the future.

  9. January 6, 2012 1:02 pm

    I just love these fruit pizzas and wanted to reach out! I am a community management assistant at Instructables.com, the largest project-sharing site with well over 60k projects all submitted by our users, and I just know our community would love to see this project!

    I wanted to give you a shout out and let you know about the Cookie Challenge that will be ending on the 9th. We’re giving away some great prizes including an iPad and a KitchenAid Artisan 5-Quart Stand Mixer and I think your recipe would be a great entry! I would be happy to feature it on our site if you decide to post the instructions and help get it noticed among our over 13 million visitors. Let me know if you have any questions.

    Hope to hear from you soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Fruit Pizza by Laura « College and University Health Education
  2. Fall Fruit Pizza « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

