Skip to content

Vegetable Beef Soup

January 23, 2011

I love making soups – perfect for the winter season and easily customizable.  Is it obvious yet that I like my recipes flexible?  I could easily share several different versions of vegetable beef soup (and I hope to do so over time), but I’ll start with this one.  All the fresh vegetables make it really healthy and naturally flavorful, and this particular ingredient selection produced a balanced hint of sweetness.

I wish I could say that this recipe could easily be transferred to a slow cooker, but honestly I would have to test it first.  Maybe it’s just me, but I am often disappointed with the results of certain meals cooked in a crock pot.  Some are great (e.g. turkey breast), but some just don’t seem to have the right flavor because (I feel) the liquid needs to be reduced.  If I worked shorter days (which doesn’t seem to be happening anytime soon), I would have time to finalize the gravy/broth/sauce over the stove.  For now, I’ll recommend the stovetop for this one.  It is a good Sunday afternoon recipe because the effort spent chopping and simmering is balanced with a reward of several hearty lunches & dinners.

Soup or stew?  I guess technically this may be considered more of a stew because the consistency is a bit thicker (a generous dredging of the meat in the flour helps with this).  I hardly added any potatoes (seriously, maybe only 2 small ones), but the amount could be increased for a heartier meal…same for the amount of meat.

Ingredients

1 LB lean sirloin stew meat
3 tbsp flour, seasoned with salt, garlic powder, pepper & oregano
4 tbsp of butter &/or olive oil mix
3 cloves garlic, chopped
6 – 7 cups mixed vegetables, such as celery, squash, peppers, onions, mushrooms, carrots, potatoes (see picture to gauge amount of vegetables I used), chopped
1/2 cup frozen corn
3 – 4 cups of beef broth (sub beef boullion cubes with water)
3 – 5 cups of water, to taste
1/2 can beer
1 can tomato soup (low sodium)
1 tbsp ketchup
1/2 or full packet of onion soup mix
1 tsp thyme, crushed red pepper, black pepper, parsley to taste

Directions

  • Heat olive oil/butter in dutch oven over medium heat.  Dredge meat in seasoned flour mixture & add to pot.  (Set aside any leftover flour for later use.)  Add garlic; stir & cook until all sides of meat are browned.
  • Add 3 cups of beef broth, 2 cups of water & bring to boil.
  • Add vegetables, beer, tomato soup, ketchup & seasoning and return to boil.  Reduce heat & simmer for 1 hour or so; gradually add water or more beef broth until desired consistency is met.
  • In a separate bowl, combine remaining seasoned flour with equal parts water; add to pot along with corn.  Simmer additional 15 – 30 min and season to taste.
  • Serve with toasted bread, croutons or soup crackers.

Does anyone freeze soups?  I would like to, but I haven’t figured a good way to do so (that’s not completely true…I have just never tried).

All for now, enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. matt permalink
    January 23, 2011 8:11 pm

    Vegetable soup reminds me of a cold winter day, a holiday meal at Aunt Tooties and snow. This soup warms the soul and tastes absolutely delicious. The soup tasted wonderful the first day, but after a day in the fridge, it seemed to even taste better than the previous day. Awesome soup.
    Soup category: 4.5 stars

  2. stephanie permalink
    February 15, 2011 11:27 am

    Wow… this looks absolutely delicious! Neil, too, loves soup and I am sure this will be a big hit. And the photos are looking just gorgeous… really, like ‘Bon Appetite’ magazine quality!!

Trackbacks

  1. Vegetable Beef Soup with Fire-Roasted Tomatoes | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

