Skip to content

Angel Hair Pasta & Shrimp

February 20, 2011

Shrimp & pasta is a natural pair to me.  I love this particular pasta recipe because I can pull this one together from 3 ingredients I always have on-hand: shrimp, pasta & canned tomatoes.  I sometimes doctor it up with a few add-ins, such as fresh spinach (like I did here), red peppers or onions, but it’s generally very simple.

Obviously, this recipe, or any shrimp recipe for that matter, can be improved if fresh shrimp are used.  I prefer to make it that way, so I’ll share that later, but that takes a bit more planning & effort.  The reality is almost 60% of Americans decide what they’re eating for dinner within 1 hour of mealtime (true stat)…that often includes me.  

Although you can thaw frozen shrimp in a variety of ways, I usually either put them in a colander & run them under cold water OR I place them in a bowl of cold water & change out the water a couple times.  (Be sure to use cool, not warm, water!)

My final note is about using cheese in this recipe.  The Italians do not add cheese to their fish recipes.  I do not know the reason; it’s just not done.  So, you can enjoy this recipe like the Italians, or you can Americanize it with a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese (like I usually do).

Ingredients

½ LB medium cooked shrimp, frozen
1 tsp olive oil
3 – 4 garlic cloves, minced
¾ cup white wine or chicken broth
1 28 oz can tomatoes, preferably Italian-style
crushed red pepper, oregano, salt & pepper, to taste
8 oz angel hair pasta
3 cups packed fresh spinach, optional

Directions

  • Thaw shrimp in bowl of cold water. 
  • Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Saute garlic for 1 – 2 min until golden.  Add wine or chicken broth & cook 3 min.
  • Add tomatoes and extra seasonings, to taste.  Simmer 20 – 25 min.
  • Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions.  Reserve ¼ cup of pasta cooking liquid before draining.
  • Add shrimp to tomato sauce & heat through, about 5 min.  Stir in spinach, if desired, & any additional seasonings.  Add reserved pasta liquid to sauce if it needs to be loosened up a bit.  Serve warm.

This makes 4 servings, but you can easily cook more pasta & shrimp to serve more (or to make more leftovers).  I have a husband that loves his sauce, so that’s why it’s sauce heavy.  Enjoy!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica Happe permalink
    March 9, 2011 9:30 pm

    I made this for John tonight. I used whole grain pasta, traded the tomatoes for 3-cheese pasta sauce (since I don’t like tomatoes), and left out the spinach (primarily because I didn’t have any). Added a whole pound of shrimp, which didn’t seem like that much once cooked, and whole box of noodles. It was delicious! I added an extra touch of butter – I sprayed the noodles with butter. John was skeptical when I told him what I was making but he said he loved it. Needless to say it will provide a few meals of leftovers. Gotta start doing this on Sunday and stop doing it on weeknights!

Leave a Reply

