Skip to content

Turkey Two Ways

February 28, 2011

Although my blog is only in the infancy stages, what I’m most enjoying about it is the excitement & discussions about food that it has instigated.  I love receiving text images of my recipes (keep ’em coming!) & having conversations about food…it makes me happy.

On to today’s recipe…slow cooker turkey breast.  This can easily be made into 2 or 3 different recipes, which is why I love it.  I cook the turkey breast in a slow cooker (3 quart size) all day on low & eat it that evening with whatever side dishes…baked sweet potatoes, rice, salad, vegetables, whatever (unless you’re my husband & choose to eat the turkey by itself for dinner because I’m not home yet to make the sides yet).  The next night I either make turkey sandwiches (or panini’s) or I use the leftover turkey to make turkey tetrazzini.  And, yes, I do this several times outside of the Thanksgiving timeframe:-)

Recipe 1 is pretty straightforward.  Although I specify savory garlic turkey breast (& technically it’s a roast), I actually prefer to buy it unseasoned so I can take care of the seasoning myself (the seasoned ones seem a little saltier than my preference), but that’s usually what my local grocery store carries, so pre-seasoned it is.  Dice an onion & a couple cloves of garlic & you’re all set.

Recipe 2 (turkey tetrazzini) is probably best made in advance and stored in the fridge overnight.  I used 1 1/2 bags of frozen vegetables this time (1 bag is my usual, but I had half a bag so I tossed it in…& I’m glad I did, too).  If you’re not a huge onion fan (or short on time), you do not have to cook up the extra onion for the tetrazzini (but if you do, cook the onion in the reserved juices from the crock pot).  Uncharacteristically, I skip the crushed red pepper on this one…instead, I like to serve this topped with hot sauce.  I think this recipe is another good use for whole grain pasta.  Linguine is typically used for tetrazzini but spaghetti is always in my pantry & works just fine.

Since I always talk about freezing recipes, I’m actually trying to freeze this one.  It makes enough to generously fill a 9×13, but I made it in one 8×8 square pan & pie pan instead.  I’ll adjust this post after I see how it goes…

Recipe 1 – Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Ingredients

1 3 LB boneless Savory Garlic Turkey Breast, thawed
1 medium onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup water
1 tbsp butter

Directions

  • Layer onion & garlic along bottom of slow cooker.  Pour in water.
  • Remove string netting from turkey, place in slow cooker & rub with butter.  Cook on low 8 – 9 hours.
  • Reserve juices to serve with turkey, make gravy or to cook additional onions for recipe #2 (below)

Recipe 2 – Turkey Tetrazzini

Ingredients

13.25oz spaghetti or linguine (whole wheat or whole grain preferred)
1 LB frozen mixed vegetables (more or less, to taste)
1 medium onion, diced (optional)
2 – 3 garlic cloves, minced (optional or sub garlic powder)
1 can cream of chicken or mushroom soup
1 soup can milk + 1/3 cup
2 cups leftover turkey, cut into bite size pieces
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese, divided use
1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs
Paprika, to taste (for color)
Hot sauce, to taste

Directions

  • Cook pasta according to package instructions, adding vegetables during the last 5 min of cooking.
  • Meanwhile, in a separate skillet, cook onions in reserved crock pot juices until translucent, about 5 min.  Add garlic & cook additional 2 min.  (If skipping this optional step, add garlic powder in the next step)
  • When pasta is draining, add soup, milk & 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese to empty pasta pan over med heat; stir until combined.
  • Return pasta & vegetables to soup mixture; add turkey and mix well.  Pour into greased 9×13 pan (or 2 pie pans).
  • Top with remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese & Panko bread crumbs.  Sprinkle with Paprika.
  • Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 20 min or until hot.  Serve with hot sauce.

A few last minute tips: any frozen veggie variety or sautéed veggies, such as mushrooms, would work in this recipe, depending on what you like.  I usually sprinkle a little bit of extra garlic powder & crushed black pepper on top before baking.  And, last thing, I recommend layering half of the turkey along the bottom of the pan & mixing the rest of it with the pasta mixture…it’s hard to stir evenly so that helps.  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenni permalink
    March 5, 2011 12:18 pm

    The tetrazzini look delish! Going to give it a try.:)

Leave a Reply

