Skip to content

Taco Roll

March 8, 2011

I am really excited to share this recipe with you.  It’s one of my ‘mental cook book recipes’ & think it could be for you, too.  It’s easy & delicious…naturally, a keeper worth sharing.  Not every recipe has to be complicated (or so I remind myself).

I state that the recipe uses 1/2 LB of leftover taco meat.  You can make the meat specifically for this recipe, but leftovers seem like a better use.  So, make the taco meat like you usually do.  I prefer to use ground turkey & I cook it with a white onion & couple cloves of minced garlic.  Once the meat is cooked through, I toss in a can of black beans (rinsed first) & heat through.  These additions add a nice filling touch to the taco roll (in my opinion).

Besides the meat mixture, all you really need is some shredded cheese.  If I have opened cream cheese, I’ll spread a couple ounces of that along the bottom of the roll.  The corn is really optional, too.  I have also added some chopped tomatoes inside (or served them along the side).  And, actually, I often freeze leftover taco meat, saving it for a future taco roll.  Just store it in a freezer ziploc, thaw & use.

This roll concept can work for any theme, such as Italian (pepperoni or Italian sausage, with pizza sauce as a dip) or maybe an egg breakfast roll (scrambled eggs & bacon)…these are on my ‘must experiment’ list…

Ingredients

1 refrigerated bread roll or pizza roll
1/2 LB leftover taco meat
1/2 cup frozen corn
1 cup shredded cheese, to taste
lettuce, salsa & sour cream, to taste

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Unroll bread so it lays flat.  Layer taco meat down center, top with corn & cheese.  Roll back up & seal ends.
  • Bake 25 – 30 min or until golden brown.  Serve with salsa, sour cream & shredded lettuce.

Enjoy for lunch or dinner…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 12:48 am

    Oh my, this taco roll looks amazing. Much more gourmet than stopping by Taco Bell. i am writing down this recipe now because I have to try making this in my kitchen. Love this post.

  2. March 9, 2011 3:47 am

    The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook. —Julia Child

  3. Jessi Corriston permalink
    March 14, 2011 2:24 pm

    Neil and I made this last night! We loved it! Taco Roll has now been added to our possible dinner list. =)

    • March 14, 2011 9:26 pm

      Great! I feel like some of your recipes should get on my possible dinner list, too! You’ll have to share a few of your favorites with me:)

  4. Kelly permalink
    March 17, 2011 5:26 pm

    Can’t wait to try this one out – its sure to be a hit with Connor!

Trackbacks

  1. Egg & Cheese Stromboli « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Tacos 3-Ways | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

