Skip to content

Roasted Red Pepper & Avocado Panini

March 27, 2011
tags: ,

I love my panini grill.  I hear it goes on many wedding registries, gets used once or twice & then basically goes to storage.  I do not understand that.  The panini grill has the ability to enhance any sandwich from ordinary to extraordinary.  Okay, maybe that’s a stretch, but it’s under-utilized nonetheless.

As soon as I made my Roasted Red Pepper Hummus, I knew it had to go on a sandwich…better yet, a panini.  I had deli ham on-hand, so that’s what I used, but turkey would be good, too.  You can also easily switch up the cheese.  Finally, I recently read a recipe that had Panko crumbs sprinkled on top of the panini for an extra crunch.  I added it…a nice touch but not necessary.

Because I feel like this is such a good use of the roasted red pepper hummus (& highly liked by my husband & sister), I wanted to share this in hopes of inspiring you to dust off that panini grill for an extraordinary sandwich experience:)

Ingredients

6 slices of whole wheat bread
3 generous tbsp roasted red pepper hummus
3 slices of pepperjack cheese
1 cup shredded colby jack shredded cheese
1/2 lb – 3/4 lb sliced deli ham or turkey
1/2 ripe avocado, peeled, pitted & thinly sliced
2 tbsp panko crumbs, optional

Directions

  • Preheat panini grill.  Coat with nonstick cooking spray.
  • Spread 1 tbsp of roasted red pepper hummus on 1 side of a slice of bread.  Top hummus with a slice of pepperjack cheese & 4 avocado slices.  Then, layer deli meat (to taste), shredded cheese & 2nd slice of bread.  Put on panini grill & sprinkle top of sandwich with panko bread crumbs.
  • Close panini press & cook until bread has nice grill marks, about 4 min.  Repeat for remaining 2 sandwiches.  Serve hot.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    March 30, 2011 10:04 pm

    Unbelievable sandwich. Best sandwich I have ever had at home. Delicious

Trackbacks

  1. Roasted Red Pepper Hummus « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Egg Sandwich « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

