Skip to content

Beer Cheese Fondue

March 31, 2011

Fondue is fun-to-do.  We all love when restaurants do it for us, but it’s an option for home entertaining as well.  It is a bit more difficult because you need to prepare it over the stove, transfer pots & then serve immediately…but it’s worth it.  It turns dinner into an experience, which is why we love the fondue restaurants.  Why not enjoy that experience at home (for a much cheaper price, might I add)?

I prefer the beer base cheese fondue (as opposed to white wine), which is why I have settled on this recipe (for now).   You can mix up the beer & cheese (as I have done), but I have not found a mix that I haven’t liked.  My husband strongly prefers/recommends Tank 7 as the beer…it does add quite a bit more robust flavor than the Bud Light that I prefer.  So, pick a beer that you like or mix it up for a slightly different taste each time.

I recommend at least some Gruyère cheese, known for its melt-ability & creamy/nuttiness (Gruyère is usually the cheese melted on top French Onion Soup).  After a lengthy discussion, the grocery store cheese lady sold me on the sharp white cheddar cheese (& she would have sold you, too).  Because I feel like beer cheese should be yellow, I mix in some form of yellow cheddar.  Really, the ratio of each can vary, so don’t be afraid to mix it up.

Next time you’re looking for something to do Saturday night, try some beer cheese fondue…I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Ingredients

4 cups cheese (1 cup Gruyère, 2 cups sharp white cheddar, 1 cup mild yellow cheddar)
3 tbsp flour, divided use
4 tbsp unsalted butter
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 12oz bottle beer
1 tsp hickory smoked or stone ground mustard
pinch cayenne pepper
1/2 chopped jalapeno & 1 chopped roma tomato for garnish, optional
cubed sourdough or wheat bread, carrots, broccoli, celery, cauliflower &/or chips for dipping

Directions

  • With a large cheese grater, shred cheese.  In a medium bowl, toss cheese with 1 tbsp of flour; set aside.
  • In a medium pot, melt butter over medium heat.  Add garlic & cook for 2 min.  Whisk in remaining 2 tbsp flour, stirring constantly, & cook, about 2 min.
  • Add beer & bring to a slow boil.  Reduce heat to low, stirring occasionally, until mixture thickens, about 8 – 10 min.  Add mustard & cayenne pepper.
  • Add cheese, 1 cup at a time, stirring constantly & melting cheese after each addition.
  • Turn fondue pot to low & pour cheese into pot.  Garnish with jalapeno & tomato.  Serve with bread, veggies & chips.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. matt permalink
    April 1, 2011 6:12 pm

    This is by far the best cheese I have ever had in my entire life. The tank 7 is absolutely awesome within the cheese, and complements it so well (much better than bud light, Laura :)) This is seriously incredible. One of my new favorite things.

  2. June 18, 2013 5:51 pm

    Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

Leave a Reply

