Skip to content

Carrot Cupcakes

April 21, 2011

Easter time means carrot cupcake time, at least in my family.  These are always prepared by my Aunt Genie…always consistent & always delicious.  I finally became clever enough to ask for the recipe, which is what I have to share with you today.

The freshly grated carrots, chopped pecans & cinnamon elevate this recipe way above any boxed carrot cake recipe.  I substitute 1/2 or 3/4 cup of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour (I don’t think you can tell the difference).  And the icing is key to this recipe.  I do recommend that you actually wait for the cream cheese & butter to warm to room temperature before starting on that.  I also make some of these in mini cupcake pans…perfectly bite sized!  Genie serves half of the cupcakes with shredded coconut on top, which I highly recommend for you coconut lovers.

Carrot cupcakes do not & should not be reserved only for Easter.  For me though, anytime I pull out Genie’s carrot cupcake recipe, I’m transported to family memories & Easter.  I just hope I can do Genie justice with my carrot cupcakes…

Ingredients

2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (optional: sub 1/2 cup with whole wheat flour)
2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
3 cups coarsely grated raw carrots
1 1/2 cups chopped pecans
coconut, to taste, optional

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease & flour 24 muffin pans or line with paper muffin liners.
  • Combine sugar, oil & eggs in a large boil.  Beat at medium speed for 2 min.
  • In a separate bowl, sift flour, salt, baking soda & cinnamon.  (Sift flour with sifter or use a whisk to stir all the ingredients together.)  Slowly add dry ingredients to other bowl & beat on low-speed for 1 min.  Gently stir in carrots & nuts.
  • Spread batter into prepared cupcake pans.  (I find a 1/4 measuring cup sizes it perfectly.)  Bake 15 to 18 min or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean.  Cool completely.  Frost (see recipe below).

Frosting – Ingredients

1 8oz pkg cream cheese (1/3 less fat)
1/4 cup butter
2 tsp vanilla
16oz confectionary sugar

Frosting Directions

  • Beat (warm temperature) cream cheese & butter in a medium bowl until well mixed.  Add vanilla.
  • Gradually beat in powdered sugar & beat until creamy.
PS – Don’t forget to store these in the refrigerator!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

