Skip to content

Vegetable Pasta Dinner

September 19, 2011

Pasta is & will likely remain as my go-to dinner plan….it’s just so easy & versatile.  This recipe is a perfect example of that.  Just a few healthy ingredients put together in a few minutes, yum.

To many men, including my husband, this may appear to be a side dish (which it could be) because it has no meat.  Like there’s some unspoken man-rule that dinner must include a protein.  (Mom, I know you’re nodding your head in agreement.)  For those who feel a protein must be included in order to call it a meal, shrimp would be my preference, followed by chicken.  But, for me, it works great without it.

I had 2 small squash on hand, but I have & would easily substitute peppers for the squash.  Asparagus would also be delicious.  Capellini (or angel hair or thin spaghetti) is my pasta shape of choice because the delicate strands pair nicely with light sauces, like the one in this recipe.  Farfalle or shells would be nice shapes, too.

With the weather getting cooler, I would serve this one up soon.  Pretty soon, it will be time to switch over to the heartier dishes…

Ingredients

2 tbsp butter
1 yellow onion, diced
2 small summer squash, sliced into 1/2″ pieces & halved
3 large cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup dry wine
Salt & pepper, to taste
1/2 pkg (80z) capellini pasta
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
parsley, chopped
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, optional

Directions

  • In a large skillet, heat butter over medium heat.  Add onion & cook for 2-3 min.  Add squash & cook until soft, about 5 min.  Add garlic, cook an additional minute & then add wine.
  • Simmer until wine is mostly reduced.  Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions (be sure to salt the water!)  Reserve about 1/2 cup of cooking liquid.
  • Add hot pasta to skillet.  Toss in cheese, parsley & season to taste.  Add reserved cooking liquid, as needed, & olive oil.
Printer-friendly recipe Easy Vegetable Dinner
One Comment leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 6:02 am

    Pasta really is brilliant. It’s cheap as well, which helps. One can never eat badly when one has pasta in the house. That really isn’t an unspoken man rule, I’m not a veggie, yet I thoroughly enjoy vegetarian food. I don’t really get why some people complain when they don’t get meat in a meal. I only eat red meat perhaps once or twice a week and maybe chicken on one other day. So in fact I’m more veggie than I am meat eater 😀

Leave a Reply

