Skip to content

Spotlight: Peanut Butter

October 22, 2011

Peanut Butter: kids favorite food.  And mine.  Who says you have to graduate out of peanut butter anyway?  It’s delicious & rather versatile, if you ask me.  I normally enjoy it as a snack in various forms, but I do incorporate it as an ingredient in many recipes, as you may have learned.

While I know I eat more peanut butter than most people (the National Peanut Butter estimates 6 lbs of peanut butter & peanut products per person per year…seems low, right?), it has surely increased during this pregnancy.  Hence is the reason I’m writing about it today with no particular purpose.  Although higher in fat, it’s the healthy kind.  Peanut butter is also high in vitamins & minerals with 7 or 8g of protein per serving.

I almost always choose creamy (not the whipped creamy though).  Lately, I have been incorporating Nutella into my peanut butter snacks, although I try to limit these occasions (with only partial success).  I thought I would highlight my favorite uses for this wonderful ingredient, maybe something will inspire you…

Laura’s Top Peanut Butter Ideas

10.  Peanut butter brownies
9. Spread on top of Whole Wheat Waffles
8. Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies
7. Graham crackers
6. Peanut Butter Pasta
5. Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Sandwich
4. Whole grain toast
3. Wheat Thins
2. Banana slices
1. Alone, right out of the jar

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren Hughey permalink
    October 22, 2011 2:07 pm

    Peanut butter and I are pretty tight as well… can’t seem to figure out how my kids came to love it so much? 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Love. « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Peanut Butter Drops « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

