Skip to content

Fall Fruit Pizza

November 19, 2011

It is to my disappointment (& my husband’s delight) that I did not make it apple picking this year.  I can’t explain it; I just love this childhood activity.  It’s about relaxing, reminiscing & pausing time; I love everything about it…from the tractor (or bus) ride out to pick the apples to the last bite of the apple pie made with the fresh picked apples.  I am looking forward to next fall, since I will have a young one to both justify my hobby & start a tradition with…

All this apple talk does bring me back around to this post.  I have already shared my fruit pizza recipe, so there’s not much new here other than the toppings.  This one has fall written all over it (even if the apples aren’t freshly picked).

This fall fruit pizza requires an extra step because you need to soak the apples in lemon water to prevent browning…but it’s definitely recommended.  If I were making & serving immediately, I would use normal caramel topping.  If you’re traveling with it (as I was), I would use the caramel hard shell topping.  Like the summer version, you can use or make individual sugar cookies, or you can make the big pie-like version as I did here.

Ingredients

2 large Granny Smith apples
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 roll store-bought sugar cookies
1 8oz pkg cream cheese (1/3 less fat is preferred)
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup honey-roasted peanuts, crushed
Hard shell caramel topping, to taste

Directions

  • Fill a medium bowl with about 1 quart of water & lemon juice.  Core & thinly slice apples & add to lemon water.  Let sit for 20 – 30 min; rinse & dry.
  • Meanwhile, preheat oven 350 degrees.  On a greased, round pizza pan, evenly spread out cookie dough mix (as if you’re making one large sugar cookie).  Bake 10 min.
  • Mix cream cheese, sugar & vanilla on low in a medium bowl until smooth.
  • Top cooled sugar cookie with cream cheese spread & arrange apples on top.  Drizzle with caramel sauce & chopped nuts.
  • Refrigerate until you’re ready to serve.

Enjoy! Printer-friendly Fall Fruit Pizza

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2011 11:35 am

    Looks yummy. I never realised that apples went so well with what are essentially savory dishes. for instance, I had a dal yesterday that had big chunks of apple in it, and it works spectacularly well.

Trackbacks

  1. Fruit Pizza « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Buffalo Chicken Pizza « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

