Skip to content

Addison Kathleen

January 1, 2012
tags: ,

My plate has been full lately, although not with my typical ingredients.  I’ve entered the life of sleep deprivation, worry, thanklessness, selflessness; better known as motherhood.  And I couldn’t be happier.

My little sugar plum / pumpkin / angel / snuggle muffin blessed us with her rather quick entrance into the world on December 18th at 2:16am.  Dad & I waited to be surprised, announcing, “it’s a girl!”  to our anxiously waiting friends & family…it was worth the wait.  A little thing, only 6 lbs & 11 oz, yet long at 20.5 in, Addison Kathleen has already captured so many hearts.

 

As I take on my new role as mother, I already have learned & changed so much.  Like, that everything is a safety hazard.  Bodily fluids now dominate the topic of my conversations.  And planning anything relating to this child is outside of scope, such as the due date, sleeping patterns (nighttime means sleepy time!) & hopeful personality traits (please don’t be stubborn like me).  Although it has not changed yet, dinner menus are likely to be tweaked, too…they may need to be a little faster, eventually a little more kid-friendly & who knows what else.  A challenge I whole-heartedly welcome.

In just a short couple weeks, I can see that parenting is a challenge, a blessing & a learning experience bundled up into one intricate package.  I have found more appreciation for my own parents now & love watching the 4 grandparents adjust (easily) into their new role.  It’s all been so wonderful…thankful & love are the simple words that come to mind.

So, more recipes to come soon, but forgive me if I seem a little distracted.  Like I said, my plate is full.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. stephanie permalink
    January 3, 2012 11:09 am

    those photos are amazing!?! she is just beautiful!! welcome to little addison… what a blessing!! it is just wonderful to hear how you have so seemlessly transitioned into motherhood – i cannot imagine the joy (and sleep deprivation) you’re now experiencing, but i am certainly overjoyed for you, matt and your new addition!! can’t wait to meet her! and i’ll check back for more recipes later on 🙂 congratulations!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Love. « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Holiday Cranberry Cocktail, and Ladybugs « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

