Skip to content

Hash Brown Potato Casserole

January 5, 2012

For 2012, I have a few new year resolutions.  And, like most of you, they resemble last year’s resolutions, and the year before.  They all center around finding balance in the various areas of my life: spiritually, physically, emotionally, mentally & socially (yes, it is nerdy).  I’m adding culinary to this year’s list.

So resolution may not be the most accurate word; nonetheless, I have some culinary goals for 2012.  My first one is about experimenting with new-to-me ingredients.  No exotic or crazy ingredients, just methods, ingredients & recipes that I are not in my current repertoire.  For instance, making a whole chicken, using more citrus, experimenting with fennel, arugula, coconut milk, ancient grains, and more.  (Patience, it will take a while before these new experiments work their way onto my blog.)  Secondly, I intend to test out the homemade baby food thing.  I’m not committed to it (I’m not convinced it’s worth the time & effort), but I will test it out.  It kind of feels like something I would do.

Finally, I am going to post my family recipes.  We’ve made these recipes over & over again throughout the years, so it seems only fitting to post & save them here.  Some are fairly simple & some haven’t been made in a while, but all are delicious.  I’m excited to cook & share them with you.  Some I haven’t made by myself, in a while or at all, but that’s part of the fun of it.

I’m starting with this Hash Brown Potato Casserole, compliments of my mother.  It was a standard at all our family get-togethers for some time, but it’s currently on a sabbatical.  I think posting it here will bring it back to life because it is yummy; it reminds me of home.  I hope you enjoy…

Ingredients

1 can cream of celery soup (98%fat free)
1 1/2 cups light sour cream
2-3 cups shredded cheddar (or Mexican) cheese
Salt, pepper, minced garlic or garlic powder, to taste
2 pounds frozen shredded hash brown potatoes
1/2 cup (1 stick) melted butter, divided use
1 1/2 cups corn flakes
Directions
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix soup, sour cream, 2/3 of shredded cheese & seasoning in a large bowl.  Fold in potatoes.  Spread into greased 9×13 pan.
  • Pour 1/4 cup, or half, of melted butter over potatoes.  Top with remaining cheese.
  • Crush corn flakes and mix with remaining 1/2 stick melted butter.  (Put them in ziplock bag, crush and mix in butter.)  Sprinkle over potatoes.
  • Cover with foil & bake 40 min.  Remove foil & bake an additional 20 min, or until bubbly.
 My mom sometimes mixes 1 cup of French’s fried onions into the potato mixture for an extra crunch.  If you have some on-hand, try that.  Here’s the printer-friendly Hash Brown Potato Casserole recipe.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

