Skip to content

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

January 25, 2012

 

I follow a lot of food blogs via reader.  Like real blogs, ones with advertising & purpose, career-like blogs. I’m constantly amazed at how frequently these bloggers post…so impressive.  And everything looks delicious.  They must have more hours in their day than I do.  I’m content with my hobby-blog, serving as an online host for my recipes, but it sure would be nice to have more time blogging.

Anyway, for those who like broccoli cheddar soup here’s a recipe for you to try. Very healthy, very delicious.  All fresh ingredients…food you feel good about eating & serving.  Winter-friendly, but I think this one would be good year-round.

Similar to my tomato soup, I cook this in my dutch oven & puree it in the pot.  But, you can easily transfer to a food processor or blender.  The recipe calls for only half a cup of rice; I use brown rice, but use white if that’s what you have.  And adjust the cheese to taste, ballpark the vegetable quantities & omit the sugar if it’s sweet enough for you without.

I actually adapted this from minute rice, recipe saved from a 2006 magazine advertisement. It suggests substituting asparagus or leeks for the broccoli…I’ll have to try that sometime.  For now, enjoy…

Ingredients

1-2 tbsp olive oil
2 medium carrots, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 cups chicken broth
3 cups water
4 – 5 cups of fresh broccoli, chopped
1/2 cup quick cook brown rice
salt & pepper, to taste
1/2 cup fat-free half-&-half
2 cups cheddar cheese, to taste
1 tbsp sugar or splenda, optional

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add carrots, onion & celery; cook until soft, or about 5 – 7 min.  Add garlic & cook one more minute.
  • Add chicken broth & water; stir & bring to boil.  Stir in broccoli & rice.  Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer 10-15 min, stirring frequently.
  • Puree in pot or transfer to food processor & blend until pureed.  Season to taste.
  • Add half-&-half, cheddar cheese & sugar.  Cook until heated through.  Serve with additional cheese on top.

Printer-friendly Broccoli Cheddar Soup

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 10:57 pm

    This looks delicious! What food blogs do you like? I just started mine as a way to inspire myself to cook more and I’m trying to post a recipe a day (but limit myself to 20 mins writing!). But I’m starting to see that there’s a fun world of food blogs out there and I’d love to know your favorites for healthy deliciousness!

    • January 26, 2012 7:21 pm

      Hi there. Your blog is great! Skinny taste, pinch my salt, Dana treat, Family fresh cooking & how sweet it is are just a few that I follow 🙂

      • January 27, 2012 3:33 pm

        Thanks! Dana Treat is the only one of those that I know, I will check out the others!

  2. March 4, 2012 7:55 am

    Delicious! I’ve never made broccoli soup – I think it’s time to add that to my list! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Winter Oatmeal (pears, cranberries & walnuts) | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

