Skip to content

Banana Nut & Oat Waffles

February 19, 2012

I love breakfast.  I’m sure I’ve stated that before, but I really mean it.  Weekend mornings are a favorite for this reason, & overnight guests are required to stay for breakfast.  There’s really not a breakfast item that I dislike (minus runny eggs), & I can’t believe I haven’t posted more breakfast items…more casseroles, muffins, french toasts, egg dishes, parfaits.  I’m making a mental note to post more of these favorites…

Waffles are on the top of my breakfast list.  I usually have my Whole Wheat Waffles in my freezer, but I’ve made these banana nut & oat waffles a lot recently, & they are very worthy of sharing.  They are very similar to the whole wheat waffles but with a banana twist.  I usually use pecans in recipes, but walnuts seem like a better fit with the oats & bananas.  Many people would omit the optional chocolate chips like I did this time, but I usually don’t/wouldn’t.  (But I have a chocolate problem.)

If you have some over-ripe bananas (or, like me, purposely buy bananas to let them ripen for recipes like this or that), test out this Banana Nut & Oat recipe…

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup quick-cook oats
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1 tbsp Splenda or sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
2 small, ripe bananas, about 1 cup mashed
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/3 cup skim milk
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup chocolate chips, optional

Directions

  • In a small bowl, mash bananas.  In another bowl, whisk together dry ingredients (whole wheat flour, oats, baking powder, sugar, salt, cinnamon).
  • In a large bowl, mix eggs, milk & vanilla.  Stir in mashed bananas & dry ingredients.  Fold in walnuts & chocolate chips.
  • Pour about 3/4 cup of batter onto preheated waffle iron.  Cook until light brown.  Serve with sugar-free syrup.  Makes 5 – 6 waffles.

Print this Banana Nut & Oat Waffles

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

