Skip to content

Pasta Bolognese

April 14, 2012

I made this bolognese recipe many weeks ago; that sweet little newborn of mine just took up all the free time I had to blog about it.  I’m already wanting to make it again.

This would be my definition of comfort food: slow cooking, fresh ingredients & lots of leftovers.  You will find countless bolognese recipes online, each slightly different. After experimenting several times, I feel like I finally found my version (which means I won’t continue to experiment too much).

The first time I made this I attempted to finely dice the vegetables.  Ha.  You could say that I don’t have the patience nor skill for that.  Then I tried the food processor…it makes all the difference.  Seriously.

Just look at the ingredient list…only good things, it must be yummy.  The only down side is it takes awhile to make.  Just allow yourself the time; making it on a Sunday is best.  You’ll have leftovers until Wednesday & be glad you did.

Ingredients

3 celery stalks, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
1 large onion, chopped
1-2 tbsp butter
3 cloves of garlic, minced
salt & pepper
3/4 lb ground veal (or additional ground beef)
3/4 lb ground pork
3/4 lb ground beef or sirloin
1 cup red wine
28oz can crushed tomatoes
2 tbsp tomato paste
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp oregano
pinch cinnamon
8oz tomato sauce (no salt), 16oz if you like it more saucy
1 tbsp sugar
1/3 cup half & half
fresh parsley, chopped
shredded Parmesan, to taste
1 lb pasta

Directions

  • In a food processor, puree celery, carrots & onion.  In a dutch oven over medium heat, heat butter.  Add vegetables & cook until tender, about 5 min.
  • Add meats & cook until no longer pink (about 6 – 8 min), stirring & breaking it up with a spoon.  Drain fat.
  • Pour in wine & cook over medium-low until wine is reduced by half.
  • Add tomatoes, tomato paste, seasonings & tomato sauce.  Simmer on low for 30min – 1 hour, stirring occasionally.
  • Meanwhile, cook 1 lb of pasta of choice according to package directions.  Drain & set aside.
  • Add sugar, half & half & parsley (& additional salt & pepper, if needed).  Serve with Parmesan cheese over pasta.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2012 11:53 am

    That looks beautiful, a classic and a delicious recipe.

  2. April 15, 2012 5:27 am

    Hi there, I just recently posted the original recipe to Ragu Bolognese. I’m Italian and this is the way we do it here, I hope that you enjoy it and if you do attempt to make it let me know how it turns out. Ciao

    http://mythineats.com/2012/04/13/finally-here-it-is-ragu-bolognese/

Trackbacks

  1. Making (tonight’s) dinner easy & special… « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

