Skip to content

Blueberry Breakfast Cake

May 26, 2012

My current food interests (slash obsessions) include a few things: frozen yogurt,  hummus, reading blogs & Pinterest. 

To address the first, frozen yogurt; this can be explained by the opening of an Orange Leaf within walking distance of my house.  Within walking distance, I said.  Dangerous.  Delicious.  Have you tried the Snickerdoodle (it’s a seasonal flavor, so do me a favor & please request it in hopes that it may become available before the “winter season” because of consumer demand) or the new Butternut Pecan (deceivingly delicious)?

Hummus.  It’s just good, so I keep either making it or buying it.  I have 2 hummus recipes already, & I’m about to post another fun use for hummus.  I also need to share my roasted garlic recipe soon.

Reading blogs, specifically, reading food blogs.  I read a ton through my google reader, & my current favorite is this one.  I want to make every recipe; the pictures are great; the blog fun to read.  Check it out. 

Pinterest.  I really don’t even need to explain it – it’s obvious why we all love it.  Through Pinterest, I found this recipe.  I made very small changes to it…substituted a little whole wheat flour, cheated on the buttermilk, added some cinnamon, almost doubled the amount of blueberries & increased the cooking time.  

This doesn’t have to be reserved exclusively or breakfast (please, don’t!).  It would fit perfectly for a brunch, but I choose chocolate for my desert menu whenever possible.  And, I’ll continue to share my interests whenever possible…

Ingredients

½ cup milk + 1 tbsp white vinegar
½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
2 tsp lemon zest 
3/4 cup + 1 tablespoon sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/3 cups flour (divided use)
2/3 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp  salt
1 tsp cinnamon
3+ cups fresh blueberries

Directions

  • Mix milk & vinegar in a small bowl to “sour” the milk (or use 1/2 cup buttermilk); set aside.
  • Preheat oven to 350ºF. Cream butter with lemon zest & 3/4 cup of sugar until light and fluffy.
  • Add egg & vanilla & beat until combined. Meanwhile, toss the blueberries with ¼ cup of flour, then whisk together the remaining flour, baking powder, salt & cinnamon.
  • Add the flour mixture to the batter a little at a time, alternating with the buttermilk. Fold in the blueberries.
  • Grease a 9-inch baking pan with non-stick spray. Spread batter into pan. Sprinkle batter with remaining tablespoon of sugar. Bake for 45 min. (It’s best served warm!).

I added a tbsp of oats to the top (optional).  Enjoy!

Print: Blueberry Breakfast Cake

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2012 3:18 am

    What a ridiculously yummy looking cake! Perfect for breakfast.

  2. Shannon McCarthy permalink
    June 28, 2012 2:27 pm

    This looks like a fabulous breakfast idea. Also, enjoyed your hummus recipe. Keep up the inspiring blog =)
    – Shannon, Crumb Cake Creations, LLC

Leave a Reply

