Skip to content

BBQ Kabobs & Pasta

June 24, 2012

I have a dilemma.  I like to cook (understatement), but I have minimal time to do so.  I rush home from work to pick up my daughter & then I simultaneously attempt to cook dinner & feed her (I’m attempting that homemade baby food thing…so far it’s been partially successful; tip – before freezing a lot of something make sure she likes it!).

Then I want to go on a family walk, it is summer after all.  Sometimes those walks lead to Orange Leaf, but I’ve already admitted to that problem.

But bedtime keeps inching up earlier & earlier, ahh!

So, this recipe evolved from my need for simplicity, my overuse of pasta & our love for summer grilling.  It’s simple because I prep the ingredients the night before or in the morning before work.  It’s also easy because I cook the pasta while the kabobs are grilling, & then I just toss it together with some Parmesan cheese.  This recipe is healthy, too – I use turkey kielbasa sausage, veggies & a light sauce.  And I love the lightly burnt BBQ taste from grilling the meat & vegetables.  Yum.

I would try this simple onion, pepper & sausage combo first, but feel free to experiment with other ingredients.  Other variations I’ve tried include shrimp, chicken, tomatoes, zucchini, yellow & orange peppers, red onion.  But, this is my favorite combo.  If you don’t have a favorite BBQ seasoning blend, substitute with salt, pepper, garlic powder & cumin.  I hope you enjoy.

Ingredients

16oz turkey kielbasa sausage, cut into 1/4-inch diagonal slices
1 large onion, cut into 1″ pieces
1 large red pepper, cut into 1″ pieces
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp BBQ seasoning blend, to taste
1/2 lb short cut pasta, like penne, rigatoni or fusilli, reserving 1/3 cup of pasta liquid
1 tbsp butter
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
chopped fresh Parsley, to taste

Directions

  • Prep veggies & meat in advance.  Soak skewers in water 15-30min before grilling, if possible.
  • Preheat grill.  Assemble kabobs.  Drizzle olive oil over kabobs & season to taste.  Grill kabobs 10-14min, turning every few minutes.
  • Meanwhile, bring pot of water to a boil; add 1 tsp or so of salt.  Add pasta & cook according to package directions.  Drain pasta, reserving 1/3 cup of water.  Immediately return pasta to the hot pot; add butter & turkey/veggies from kabobs.  Toss with Parmesan cheese & add reserved pasta cooking liquid, as needed.  Garnish with parsley & serve.

I’ve gotten pretty good at timing the pasta to be done with the kabobs.  Begin boiling pasta water when you preheat the grill; add pasta when you put the kabobs on the grill.  Enjoy!

Print

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2012 4:30 pm

    That pasta looks absolutely wonderful! Isn’t it annoying when you haven’t the time to cook what you like?! It certainly annoys me.

    • June 24, 2012 4:33 pm

      Yes! It’s been happening quite often to me lately 🙂

  2. July 16, 2012 2:24 pm

    I know what you mean. That continuous race against time..so much you want to do, so little time!
    I love the idea and ingredients in your pasta..ooks mouth watering good

Trackbacks

  1. A Simple Red, White and Blue Menu for the 4th of July | Project Refined Life

Leave a Reply

