Skip to content

Spotlight: Colorado, the mountains

July 8, 2012

Oh, Colorado, what’s not to love?  I would easily pick the mountains over the beach & these few images explain why.  So peaceful, so pretty…despite all the craziness around you, it’s easy to relax.

On our drive across Kansas, I learned that my company is closing its KC office, ugh.  I was happy to be on my way to this view & not suffocated by the uncertainty & sadness at work.  I love(d) my job; thoughts of all the time/stress invested; concern for my co-workers turned friends; over one hundred people & their families impacted…all for “shareholder value.”  I was glad to be away from all of it, even if just for a few days.

 

My aunt & uncle have a cabin in the mountains near Leadville & they belong to a fishing club.  Awesome, right?  Yes, it was great…my husband got his fill of fishing & I went on several hikes (although some may better be classified as walks).  I spent quality time with my snuggle bug & family, soaked up the fresh air & view from the hot tub, explored via ATV, read books (50 Shades of Grey, anyone?), enjoyed a few cocktails & went to bed early (a true sign you’re not young anymore).  It was perfect.

Memories frozen in time (with the help of a camera).

All the fishing was for rainbow trout.  As the pictures explain, the boys caught plenty of it.

 

We got to bring tons of it home, which I’m excited to cook.  I have several recipes in mind, so I’m sure one of them will be worth sharing soon.  More to come on that.

For now, it’s back to the real world…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2012 10:28 pm

    Don’t forget the part where you got to see old friends…somehow didn’t make the blog:). So glad you had a relaxing break. Can’t wait to see the recipes you come up with…Lauren

Trackbacks

  1. Reflection of Summer « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Pan-Fried Trout with Toasted Almonds « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

