Skip to content

Roasted Garlic Hummus

August 19, 2012

It has been an active month at our house.  Lost my job (sadness); a couple weeks later I was one of a few to be re-offered a job (phew!); however, only a couple weeks later the job was rescinded (angry choice words).  My baby girl started crawling & pulling herself up (so cute / scary) & my husband simultaneously started trying to figure out his whole post-residency thing (kind of stressful even though it shouldn’t be).

In times of stress & uncertainty, we turn to food.  Cooking, that is.  At least for me.  Or at least I try to.  You get the point.

It’s very much time for me to get over the hummus phase (as I’ve already posted a couple hummus recipes).  But, I haven’t, so here’s another one.  I found myself buying the Trader Joe’s Roasted Garlic Hummus every time I went there, so here’s my attempt to make it at home.

I probably should have taken pictures showing how to roast the garlic, but since I didn’t do that, read about roasting garlic on this website.

Pretty good in my opinion.

Ingredients

1 small head of garlic, roasted with olive oil (about 6-8 cloves)
1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed & drained
¼ cup lemon juice (juice from 1 large lemon)
¼ cup tahini
¼ cup olive oil
½ tsp salt, to taste
2 tbsp water, as needed
baked pita chips & carrots

Directions

  • Add roasted garlic, garbanzo beans, lemon juice, tahini & olive oil to food processor.  Process for 30 sec to 1 min.  Season with salt & add water as needed.  Puree until smooth.
  • Serve with veggies or chips.

Great for snacking, great for gatherings…just make a day or 2 in advance!  Print Roasted Garlic Hummus recipe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2012 5:25 pm

    made this last night and loved it! so true on waiting one day or more to eat. thanks for sharing:)

Trackbacks

  1. Blueberry Breakfast Cake « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Roasted Garlic « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  3. Avocado Hummus Toast « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

