Skip to content

Reflection of Summer

September 3, 2012

Deny it if you want, but Labor Day begins the transition to fall.  An end to another summer that-always-seems-short.  I always end up asking myself, “How on earth is that over already?!”  I’m sure you do, too.

Since my blog is my happy space, I will not discuss the job debacle that happened this summer.  Instead, let’s first discuss those trips to the Farmer’s Market(s).  And, I’d like to brag about Kansas City’s lovely Farmer’s Markets.  There are 3 that I visit frequently: the within-walking-distance organic Brookside Farmer’s Market, the city’s main River Market Farmer’s Market & then the fun Overland Park Farmer’s Market, which is near my yoga studio.  They represent summer for me.

Also this summer, we had some fun on vacation; visited the Ozarks a few times; went to ZERO STL Cardinals games (tear); ate lots of caprese salad & frozen yogurt; celebrated a few weddings; barbecued with friends; enjoyed a little a lot of wine; thought about how thankful we are to have what we have.  Because, I am, as my friend Lauren said best.

I watched my baby girl grow from a baby to a toddler in the blink of an eye.  I mean, I can age 8 months and notice no change (cough), but 8 months for Addison has been crazy.  We begin the summer with her only on breast milk & barely sitting up, yet we end it with her eating everything & crawling, almost walking, everywhere.  I wish I was best friends with Father Time.

I’ve been making some progress on those New Year’s Resolutions.  I’ve been experimenting & eating new things, such as fennel seeds, greek yogurt & pomegranates, & I’ve really been enjoying the making baby food.  Like really enjoying.  Weird, I know, but I’m okay with that.

My summer was all around really great.  And, I hope yours was, too.  Please take time to reflect on its greatness.  And then it will be time for one of my favorite seasons, fall…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

