Skip to content

Spotlight: New York City

October 1, 2012

New York City, so much to do, so much to see, & what I’m most interested in, so much to eat!  My husband had a course there last weekend, so I tagged along for a little husband-wife-long-weekend-get-away.

I make fun of my better half’s interest dependence on tripadvisor.com.  Like, he’s reading a recommendation from his best friend that he just can’t possibly go against.  But, Trip did not lead us astray.  #2 on the list is Levain Bakery…seriously, the best thing I ever ate.  And, no, I’m not exaggerating.  That chocolate chip brioche will haunt my dreams & my kitchen…I will now be trying to recreate it until I go back to New York & get smart by actually bringing more than 1 home with me.  Just delicious.

Colicchio & Sons was actually #7 on Trip’s list.  We are also huge Top Chef fans, so we just had to eat there.  Yum.  It definitely was an experience, which made it worth the pricey bill.  The prix fixe menu was a good selection because we could sample lots of dishes.  Who knew the “roasted & braised suckling pig polenta & sunburst squash” would be the best plate?!  Pig/pork 5 different ways, on 1 plate = amazing.  After eating at a place like that I realize how un-chefy I really am.  But that’s okay.

I ventured to Num Pang Sandwich Shop (#57 in total, but #8 when you filter it for price), which was well-worth the walk.  We did several of Trip Advisor’s sight-seeing reco’s, including a show, the Met, Ground Zero & Central Park.  There just wasn’t enough time to see & eat everything I wanted to…or enough money.  (As my husband repeated throughout the trip, “This city is so expensive.”  Truth.  We even saw a Maybach.  Don’t know what that is?  Me neither, until my husband made me wiki-it.)

For a city that never sleeps, we will admit to doing a lot of sleeping.  What is it about going on vacation & needing 10 hours of sleep?  I can validate it but not explain it.  By the end of our trip we finally realized New Yorkans (how I kept referring to the locals for some reason) do not make dinner reservations before 9pm.  We found 7pm reservations easy to come by because we were surrounded by young families.  We could not get out of our own parenting, midwestern role, apparently.

So, New York City.  So many different kinds of people (speaking so little English; seriously, just listen to people talk around you there!).  So many smells (yummy wafts from the bakeries, unfortunately usually followed by another smoker).  So much culture (art, history, talent!).  So much food (e.g. Levain Bakery!).  So much to do…I’m sure we will be back.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    October 1, 2012 9:45 pm

    Levain is our favorite bakery in NYC!

  2. Mom permalink
    October 1, 2012 9:48 pm

    OK, wait a minute….are you saying you brought home something from that bakery and DID.NOT.SHARE with the “babysitter”???? We’re you hiding it???
    STL mom

    • October 2, 2012 9:03 pm

      Err, we ate it on the way home. Or, we meant to share but forgot. Whatever line you prefer. Love ya!

Trackbacks

  1. Reflection of Fall « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

