Skip to content

Grandma’s Apple Pie

October 14, 2012

I’ve been thinking a lot about the type of parent I want to be – you know, cool & fun, yet responsible, role modelish.  Should be no problem, right?!  So far, I’ve just found a lot of guilt in balancing all the characteristics…I mean, several of them are completely conflicting (it’s just not possible to put safety first & be completely laid back).

Things I have been looking forward to in my new parenting role are holidays & cooking.  Tooth fairies, birthday cakes, looking for Santa Claus, Saturday morning breakfasts…oh, yes, I’m very excited.  Forcing my husband & siblings to go apple picking with me in my 20’s-with-no-kids-to-justify-it was getting old, to them (thank you, all, by-the-way, for playing along).  But, no more.  I’m now in my 30’s & have the sweetest little girl to make memories with.

But, I suppose it’s fair to say she might be a little too young to enjoy most of these things yet.  Like last weekend’s trip to the pumpkin patch & apple orchard.  It was, um, a little chilly.  And she can’t walk (quite) yet, so she stayed in the stroller the entire time.  But I am confident deep down she enjoyed it.  And, I’m even more confident it’s important to begin these family traditions early.

Especially apple picking.  We picked enough apples for a couple apple pies, which was, let’s be serious, the real purpose for the trip.

Placebo-effect, I’m sure, but apples made with freshly picked apples just seem to taste better.

So, here’s my grandma’s very popular apple pie recipe.  My small tweaks include tossing the apples with a little lemon juice to prevent browning, upping the amount of cinnamon (surprised?) & sprinkling with some Turbinado sugar or brown sugar (optional).  Because some traditions are meant to be passed on…

Ingredients

8 freshly picked apples
1 prepared pie crust
1 tbsp lemon juice, optional
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar
1-1/2 tsp cinnamon
6 tbsp cold butter
1 tbsp Turbinado sugar, optional

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Peel, core & chop apples into 1″ chunks.  Toss with lemon juice.  Line one crust in a 9-inch deep-dish pie pan.  Poke with fork
  • In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, cinnamon & salt.  Using a pastry cutter, blend in butter.
  • Layer 1/2 of apples into pie crust. Sprinkle with 1/2 the sugar mixture.  Repeat.  (You should have enough apples to form a nice mound in the center – apples decrease in size while baking.)  Sprinkle with Turbinado sugar.
  • Bake 15 min in the preheated oven. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees & continue baking for 30 to 40 min, until apples reach desired softness.

printer-friendly Apple Pie recipe

Leave a Reply

