Skip to content

Apple Cider Spiced Rum Cocktail

October 25, 2012

Apples & pumpkins.  I am so cliché right now because everything I make involves one of these ingredients.  I’m obsessed like they are not available any other time of the year.  Like, they do not exist until fall.  And I can’t help myself.

 

I’ve been lucky enough to have so many freshly picked apples at my disposal.  These fresh suckers don’t last long like the store-picked variety.  So, I’ve frantically been putting them in everything.  Everything.  To name a few…there’s this tried & true chocolate chip banana bread recipe, now with shredded apples; this baked apple recipe from Skinny Taste; Grandma’s apple pie; steel cut oats with apples; homemade applesauce; apples + caramel dip; apple muffins, etc.  There’s obviously always an apple in my purse for a snack.  And, well, this apple cider with spiced rum is another.

We had a delightful time this past weekend, enjoying the apples (obviously), company & the lovely fall weather.  It couldn’t be any more perfect.

My husband works with a guy who has his own mini apple orchard in his backyard.  You know, just a casual 85 apple trees, all different varieties, too.  It’s kind of like my borrowed fall heaven.

 

He has this old apple cider mill, so even this apple cider is freshly squeezed.  I’m not really a store-bought cider fan; homemade is another story.  Maybe that’s the magic to this little recipe (that & the sugar rim).

I’m sure this apple & pumpkin phase will end with winter…you know, when they go back into extinction until next fall.  Hurry while you can, then, to enjoy little apple delights like this one…

Ingredients

1 1/2 oz spiced rum
4oz apple cider
chopped apples
cinnamon sugar

Directions

  • Mix rum & apple cider in a small glass over ice.  Garnish with cinnamon sugar & apples.

Yes, you can also make this with hot apple cider…just as tasty!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    October 28, 2012 4:24 pm

    Addison is getting so big! That looks like so much fun. Who has their own apple orchard?! I want to make this for my party next weekend. Let’s chat about how I can do a big batch this week. Miss and love you.

  2. June 18, 2013 9:33 pm

    Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and include
    almost all vital infos. I would like to see extra posts like this .

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

