Skip to content

Reflection of Fall

November 28, 2012
tags:

Yes, it’s already that time, time to say goodbye to Fall & hello to Old Man Winter.  The turkey has been eaten, the enjoyable football tailgating experienced, the evening walks are no more & the leaves are all gone (well, technically they are still on my lawn waiting for the leaf fairy to sweep them away).  I’m always sad to say goodbye to Fall – it’s definitely my favorite season.  Retailers are constantly trying to cut it even shorter by displaying Christmas decorations earlier & earlier.  (Don’t get me wrong, I really love Christmas, but can we just let Thanksgiving have its day?)

I guess I can’t believe it’s over already; it was just so great.  Hubby & I had some fun.  We (went overboard) celebrated Halloween with a house party, which included a 300 lb block of ice (aka ice luge).  Sometimes it’s nice to act like you’re 19 again.  There was the NYC trip, a little couple’s getaway (much needed!) & our 1st (overnight) camping trip.  I can’t say we’re going to be on the next Man vs. Wild any day soon, but it was fun.

Husband also started his own blog: Surgeon on the Sidelines.  (All you sports people out there should check it out.)

For work, I slipped in a few sight-seeing side trips.  I saw a few of the main attractions in San Francisco.  While in Cleveland, I saw the Niagara Falls (cool, but not as cool as I imagined).

I also aged another year.  Birthdays are more fun when they are celebrated with others at a winery.  Or 5 wineries.

The weather is just so lovely in the midwest in Fall.  Time falls back (how can 1 extra hour make the day so much longer?), days get shorter.  Crisp mornings, colorful leaves.  My daughter is particularly fond of the leaves.  Just loves ’em.  So sweet.

And then there’s the Fall food.  You know, the apples, the pumpkins.  Oh, it was a good fall.

But, it’s time to look forward to Winter.  It means the first snow & hot chocolate with marshmallows Baileys, Christmas cookies, hot stews & chicken noodle soup.  I think we’ll find a way to make some more memories.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    November 28, 2012 9:24 pm

    Love you, friend. We need to catch up soon. I’m coming to KC in January. I’d love to see you and finally meet Miss Addison.

Leave a Reply

