Skip to content

Pan-Fried Trout with Toasted Almonds

December 5, 2012

trout with almonds

I’m finally getting around to posting a trout recipe.  It’s been 4+ months since our Colorado mountain vacation & here I am just finally getting to sharing a fish recipe.  Sheesh.  And we’ve eaten so much trout since then in so many ways: baked, grilled, smoked, pan-fried.

trout fishing

Either a) I’ve been busy, or b) I’m just not patient enough to actually photograph & blog the trout.  You see, that glass of wine in the picture isn’t for show.  It’s also about empty.

pan-seared trout lr

So we (and by “we” I don’t actually mean me) caught a lot of trout.

fish cooler bw2

And then my husband went back to Colorado for a boy’s fishing trip this fall.  It’s just so lovely there…

colorado lake view lr

Fish is really good for us and we need to be eating more of it, speaks common sense.  It’s just not that easy (especially in the winter, right?) because I’m not so much a fan of leftover fish.  When I haven’t had any fish in a few days, my alternative is fish oil tablets.  I realized how old I am when I asked the dinner table (which included my younger brother & his girlfriend) if they wanted fish oil after their chicken enchilada dinner.  Geez, am I 70?

I’ve found this recipe to compliment the trout best.  It is unlikely that you will be able to remove all the bones from (freshly caught) trout, so lightly breading it is a nice way to, well, help with that issue.  The tail is less meaty & less bony – so go for those pieces if you must.  I can’t say that I’ve bought trout from the store, so read this recipe with that in mind.

Because you pan-fry these on medium-high heat, do not use all butter.  Make sure your skillet with oil/butter is nice & hot before adding the fish.  Cook 2-3 min on each side, depending on the thickness of your fillets.  A sprinkling of Kosher salt adds a nice touch and don’t forget the toasted almonds…

easy trout2

Ingredients

2-3 large trout fillets
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup Panko
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp paprika
2 egg whites
2 tbsp olive oil, divided use
2 tbsp butter, divided use
Kosher salt & fresh chopped Parsley

Directions

  • Prepare fillets.  Rinse & remove any visible bones; dry.  Carve each fillet into three 4″ pieces.  
  • Toast almonds: place almonds in a medium skillet & cook over med heat, stirring frequently, until lightly toasted (you will smell them when they are ready!).
  • Mix Parmesan cheese, Panko, bread crumbs, garlic powder, paprika, salt & black pepper in a shallow dish.  In a separate dish, lightly whisk egg whites.  Dip each trout fillet in egg whites & then bread crumbs.
  • Heat 1 tbsp of oil & 1 tbsp of butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Once hot, add fish & cook 2-3 min on each side or until cooked through (4 at a time).  Sprinkle with Kosher salt & toasted almonds.  Repeat with remaining trout & serve immediately.
One Comment leave one →
  1. December 6, 2012 1:43 am

    this looks delicious!!!! nam nam nam

Leave a Reply

