Skip to content

Peanut Butter Pancakes

December 24, 2012

peanut butter pancake stack

Just a couple weeks in my home office & I would consider it a success.  No commute, no getting ready, no hassle.

And no people.  I am not sure if that’s a good thing or not.  My cube mate is now my dog, & she’s hot/cold on whether or not she wants to be next to me.scamper

Back in the real office days, I would have a stash of chocolate & a jar of peanut butter in my desk drawer.  One may wonder what I eat with the peanut butter; I can always find something.  It goes with (almost) anything.

Today, it goes in & on these pancakes.  Just in them is not enough – you can’t put enough peanut butter in the pancakes to bring out the PB flavor.  So the drizzle on top is important.  Trust me.

pb pancakes

Naturally, I put chocolate chips in these.  I did them in these pancakes, so of course I would put them with peanut butter.  It’s a culinary necessity.

You can make any pancakes into peanut butter pancakes – box, homemade, healthy, whatever.  Just add a little PB into the wet ingredients & add the drizzle on top.  I meant to put some crushed peanuts on top, but I attempted to blog this recipe with a 1-yr-old (mistake).  Learned that lesson, again.

I’m adding homemade peanut butter to my list of things to make.  For now, enjoy…

Ingredients
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup  flour
3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups  buttermilk
1 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
chocolate chips, melted peanut butter & maple syrup for serving

Directions

  • Combine butter & peanut butter in a small bowl.  Microwave 30 sec or until butter is mostly melted; set aside.
  • Combine flours, baking powder, baking soda & salt in a medium bowl.  Whisk together & set aside.
  • In a large bowl, whisk eggs, buttermilk, sugar vanilla & melted peanut butter mixture.  Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, mixing only enough to combine them. The batter will be somewhat lumpy.
  • Preheat a large griddle over a medium-low flame & spray with nonstick cooking oil.  Pour approximately 1/4 cup of batter onto griddle, top with chocolate chips, if desired.  Flip when the pancakes are bubbling.
  • Serve pancakes with melted peanut butter & maple syrup.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    December 24, 2012 9:37 am

    Jeff puts peanut butter on top of his pancakes like this, and they are amazing!

  2. December 26, 2012 4:11 pm

    Congratulations! I’ve nominated your blog for Blog of the Year Award 2012. I hope you will receive your star and participate in this exciting blog award. For details about participation and receiving your badge icon, please see this post: http://cantstayoutofthekitchen.com/2012/12/26/blog-of-the-year-award-2012-3rd-star/

Trackbacks

  1. Cauliflower Puree « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Blueberry Syrup | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

