Skip to content

Kale & Goat Cheese Frittata

February 6, 2013

kale goat cheese frittata

When my husband said “I’m really getting into kale” what I inferred was “I’d like to eat more kale.”  (He’s not snacking or cooking kale outside of my kitchen, this I know.)  Given my love for breakfast, that seemed like a natural place to start.

My daughter wanted to help cook with me, which was awesome & cute for a few minutes. She helped tear the leaves & kept handing them to me. So nice.

addison cooking with kale

And then she was done with that and tossed the leaves in the air, fed them to the dog, etc.  My little helper is still a little ways off from helping, apparently.

addison kale help

When I stumbled across this kale & goat cheese frittata recipe, I knew I had to make it. And it was good, really good. In my (& hubby’s) opinion, it needed a savory note, & the mini cups (albeit super cute) are hard to clean (don’t get me wrong – I’m a sucker for the mini cups so don’t be afraid to cook in those!).  I adapted it a few times to finally land with this kale & goat cheese frittata. I’m super excited for you to try it.

kale frittata

I list Pancetta, but any bacon, sausage, or pepperoni meat would work great (you may need to adjust the cooking oil though).  Same for the shredded cheese.  My sister said feta instead of goat cheese would be delish.  Lots of options with frittatas, which is why I love them.

Such a perfect breakfast, complete with my half-caf coffee (yes, I drink half-cafs).

coffee flower

Since there’s no carbs in this recipe, it is kind of obvious it should be served alongside some cinnamon rolls…

frittata with cinnamon roll instagram

Ingredients

1 bunch of kale, washed, stems removed & chopped
1 tsp olive oil
2-4oz Pancetta, diced
1 shallot, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tbsp water
8 eggs + 2 egg whites
3/4 cup fat-free half-n-half or milk
1/2 cup shredded Gouda cheese
Salt & pepper, to taste
2oz goat cheese, crumbled

Directions

  • Preheat oven 400 degrees.  In a medium cast iron skillet (or some other oven-safe pan), heat olive oil over med heat & cook Pancetta until crispy. Add garlic & shallots & cook 1 min more. 
  • Add water & kale, cover & cook 1-2 min or until kale is mostly wilted.
  • Meanwhile, whisk eggs, egg whites, half-n-half, shredded cheese, salt & pepper in a medium bowl. Pour egg mixture into skillet over kale.  Cook over med heat, stirring gently for 2 min. Reduce heat to med-low until eggs are set on the bottom & sides, about 10min.
  • Top with goat cheese & place in top rack of oven. Cook 10 min or until eggs are set, especially in the center.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 6:51 pm

    This looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it!

  2. February 12, 2013 6:59 pm

    Love your little helper! (and the frittata looks delicious)

  3. steph permalink
    February 19, 2013 9:57 am

    I’m definitely going to try this – I felt that ‘I’m really getting into kale’ vibe for a few months and just kept putting it in my smoothies. This sounds delicious! And more photos of Addie, please 🙂 She is too adorable!!

  4. March 10, 2013 4:18 pm

    Yum! I just made a similar frittata this morning, but with spinach instead of kale (despite the fact that I have two bunches of kale in the fridge!). Now I know what to do with my kale next weekend… 🙂 I bet the gouda + goat cheese combination is great.

Leave a Reply

