Skip to content

Ham & Smoked Cheese Egg Casserole

February 24, 2013

Ham and spinach egg casserole

Sometimes we tend to go overboard with things. I prefer to use the words passion, dedicated & enthusiastic.  Not words like obsessed or crazy. Of course not.

For instance, I’d prefer to be called dedicated when it comes to vacuuming (we have a golden retriever, ’nuff said).  And passionate when it comes to things like my love for sleeping under clean sheets (shower first).  Or, my new interest in Homeland (I don’t even watch TV, it’s just so good!). And, of course, my passion for breakfast (love!).  I might have made 3 egg casseroles in the past 2 weeks, plus 1 for a friend, shhh…

Recently, you could add buffalo chicken, cauliflower, avocados, Oreos & smoked cheese to my lists of passions.  Lovin what the smoked cheese adds to this recipe (although not required).  I can’t get enough of it.

Ham & smoked cheddar egg casserole

Not that those details matter to you. It’s another delicious recipe that you can now make at your home. Please enjoy…

Ham spinach egg casserole piece

Ingredients

Slices or chopped bread (I used Italian) – enough to make 1 layer on bottom of pan
1 to 1-1/2 cups of cooked ham, diced small or medium (such as leftover cooked boneless or bone-in smoked ham)
6 eggs + 3 egg whites
2 cups skim milk
1 tsp Dijon mustard
Salt & pepper, to taste*
1-2 cups smoked cheddar cheese, shredded
Optional additions: 1 diced, cooked onion; 1/4 cup chopped pepperoni; 1 diced, cooked small red, green or yellow pepper; 2-4oz sautéed spinach; chopped, fresh Parsley

Directions

  • Grease 9×13 baking dish with nonstick cooking oil.  Layer bread along bottom. Top with ham & any optional ingredients.
  • Meanwhile, whisk eggs, egg whites, milk, mustard, salt & pepper in a medium bowl. Pour mixture evenly over bread & ham. Sprinkle with cheese, cover, refrigerate overnight.
  • In the morning, remove egg casserole from refrigerator (for :30 if time permits); preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cover with foil & bake 50-60 min, or until eggs are cooked through. Remove foil the last 10min of baking.

*With the ham & cheese casserole, I find that I don’t need to add much additional salt.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2013 4:09 pm

    Really must try and make one of these baked egg casserole type things. They do sound delicious. And I love all of those ingredients that you have used. Maybe next weekend.

  2. March 1, 2013 9:50 pm

    I’ve recently switched my food blog over to be self-hosted which I hope will make it more user-friendly in the future. As a result, if you were following Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen via email, WordPress, or using RSS feeds through Google Reader or some other way, you are no longer subscribed. If you wish to continue receiving future posts from my blog you will need to re-subscribe. Sorry for the inconvenience, Teresa.

Leave a Reply

