Skip to content

Buffalo Chicken Soup

March 25, 2013

buffalo chicken soup picture

You know, I did my reflection of Winter a couple of weeks ago because Winter is supposed to be over.  Gone.  Bye-bye & see you later, alligator.  Just a sweet memory.

Clearly not.

photo-32

Fine, I’ll do what I know I should do & let go of things outside of my control, watch basketball (love March Madness) & make some soup.  Just enjoying the needs of winter: something warm (& spicy!).  We’ve discussed my love for Buffalo Chicken when I shared my Buffalo Chicken Nacho recipe not too long ago.  This takes the same ingredients/flavors to make a Buffalo Chicken inspired soup, yum!

buffalo chicken soup ingredients

chopped veggies

When I actually measured this to share it, I only had 8oz of chicken breast, which made me make a (generous) 2-serving soup.  You can double or adjust slightly to make more servings.  A lot of it is to taste anyway.

buff chicken soup

Enjoy the soup because Spring is surely right around the corner…

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil
2 carrots, small dice
1 celery stick, small dice
1/2 onion, small dice
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth + 2 cups water
8oz of cooked chicken breast, shredded
1/3 cup Frank’s Buffalo Wing sauce
Salt & black pepper, to taste
Blue Cheese, Shredded Mozzarella (or Smoked Cheddar!) cheese, chips, chopped, fresh Parsley or Cilantro for serving

Directions

  • Heat olive oil over medium in a medium pot.  Add chopped vegetables & sauté until tender, about 5-7 min.  Add garlic & cook 1 min more.  
  • Add broth & water; bring to a boil.  Mix hot sauce into shredded chicken & then add chicken to soup.  Season to taste & simmer 5 – 10 min.
  • Ladle soup into individual serving bowls.  Top soup with cheeses, chips & herbs, as desired.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 6:06 am

    Whenever I say winter is gone for good we get a couple of very cold and rainy days!
    I will have to keep this wonderful soup in mind the next time this happens

Trackbacks

  1. Buffalo Chicken Nachos | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

