Skip to content

Mixed Berry Cobbler-Cake

April 10, 2013

I’m not exactly sure what to call this: cobbler, cake, dessert?  It’s good, so I guess it doesn’t really matter.

piece of cobbler

Am I the only person who needs to eat dessert every day, like after/with all meals?  I know my husband is with me, at least.

You know that I usually go for the chocolate dessert, says the woman who is eating Dove chocolates as she writes.  However, I love fruit, it just usually gets eaten alone (& occasionally with chocolate, too).

I love that you can use frozen fruit in this recipe.  I’m a little annoyed that berries are not yet in season & priced reasonably.  It feels like it should be time, right?  Negative.  Enter this recipe.

cobbler lr

I have made 2 versions: the first is what I call the “Guest-Version” Cobbler-Cake because, well, it’s not cutting any corners.  It uses the full stick of butter, whole milk & more sugar.  More straight-forward & you can’t go wrong with it.  I wanted to experiment with a lighter version, you know, the “Weeknight” acceptable version.  It makes some short-cuts.  Husband could not tell the difference between the 2, so that’s a good sign.

mixed berry cobbler oven

Use your favorite berry; I really like the mixed combo (& I’ve used a couple different combos of such) but any berry would work.  Right before adding the berries to the recipe, I merely quickly rinsed them & then tossed them in <1 tbsp flour.  Sprinkle them on top of the batter frozen (do not thaw).

I can’t wait to try these with fresh berries, hopefully, soon!

mixed berry cobbler cake

Guest-Version Mixed Berry Cobbler-Cake Recipe

Ingredients

1 cup white sugar + 1/4 cup, divided use
1 cup flour
1-1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
zest of 1 lemon
16oz frozen mixed fruit tossed in 1 tbsp flour

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter 10″ round circle pan (like this).
  • In a medium bowl whisk or sift 1 cup of sugar, flour, baking powder & salt.  Mix in milk & melted butter.  Stir in lemon zest.
  • Pour batter into buttered pan.  Drop fruit evenly over top of batter.  Sprinkle with sugar.
  • Bake for 50min to 1 hour.  Serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

Weeknight Mixed Berry Cobbler-Cake Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 cup white sugar + 2 tbsp Splenda
1 cup flour (sub 1/2 cup with whole grain flour)
1-1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup skim milk
5 tbsp of butter, melted
zest of 1 lemon
16oz frozen mixed fruit tossed in 1 tbsp flour (or more fruit if it fits!)
1/4 cup Turbinado sugar

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter 10″ circle pan.
  • In a medium bowl whisk or sift sugar, Splenda, flour, baking powder & salt.  Mix in milk & melted butter.  Stir in lemon zest.
  • Pour batter into buttered pan.  Drop fruit evenly over top of batter.  Sprinkle with Turbinado sugar.
  • Bake for 50min to 1 hour.  Serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

Adapted from the Pioneer Woman’s Blackberry Cobbler

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    April 11, 2013 8:49 am

    UMMM! I’m cutting this one out for my own personal cookbook. I want one of those ceramic pie plates too.

  2. steph permalink
    April 11, 2013 2:35 pm

    This looks AMA-Zing! Cannot wait to try it. Maybe this weekend. I, too, feel the same way about the berries. But I’m enjoying the frozen ones anyway. If I don’t have Splenda, can I just use 1/2 c + 2tbsp regular sugar?

    Thanks for the awesome recipes!

  3. xoeldee permalink
    July 24, 2014 2:24 pm

    🙂 What happens if your frozen berries have already thawed?

    • August 3, 2014 1:05 pm

      Sorry for the delay! The berries may bleed a little bit but otherwise that should be fine!

Leave a Reply

