Skip to content

Lucky #5, the Babies Announcement & Chocolate Chip Cookies

May 8, 2013

Five is feeling like my lucky number nowadays.  It is May, the 5th month, and there seems to be a lot to celebrate.  With cookies, of course.

We sold our house this month; the house we lived in for 5 years.  (It will be a long time before we sell a house again, this I know.)  Anyone who has sold a home knows how stressful that can be, and we were lucky  that it took us only a couple weeks (for sale by owner, too!).  The house has its quirks, sure, but it was a wonderful home.  Our 1st home.

35E.68thTer_web

Now, packing, reminiscing, moving.

magnoliatree_web

My husband & I also celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary this month.  Five years!  I know I’ll only continue to say this, but my that went by fast!  “I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend; Lucky to have been where I have been.”

5yrwedding_web

Of course I have to give a little shout out to this wonderful man I am so lucky to call my husband.  Let’s just call it the top 5 reasons for why I love my husband.

5.  Laugh, as in, we laugh together.  At, with & for each other.  A key to happiness.

4. He wears his wedding ring to bed, every night, & kisses me goodbye, every morning, before he leaves for work.

3. He has a huge, welcoming heart.

2. Best father, or “da-da,” a wife & mother could ask for.

1. He loves, appreciates & encourages my cooking.  Especially these chocolate chip cookies.  Or anything really.  He’s my biggest fan.  And, I, his.

bathtime

Last, but not least, we are sharing our news that our family is growing…to a family of 5.  Yes, 3 to 5, means we are adding 2 (TWINS!) to our family this fall.  Yikes!  We are so excited/nervous/happy/tired we can’t hardly stand it.  And, most of all, we are lucky.

Now, let’s celebrate with these delicious chocolate chip cookies.

chocolate chip cookies

My sister & I have been searching for “the best” chocolate chip cookie recipe, and we think we have finally found that recipe.  You can trust me on that one, or find out for yourself.

tray of cookies

These are definitely best medium-sized.  I tried the 2-bite size, but that didn’t seem to really bring out the chewy center.  Also, watch these closely to learn the right cook time for your oven.  If you judge by color, you may overcook these.  Watch the center to see when it’s just no longer gooey.

chocolate chip with walnuts

And, you don’t have to be lucky to eat these.  Just get baking.

Ingredients

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs, room temp
2 tsp vanilla
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp hot water
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips, mix mini & regular chips
1 cup chopped walnuts, optional

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Cream together butter & sugars until smooth, about 3 min.  Beat in eggs & stir in vanilla.
  • Dissolve baking soda in hot water.  Add to batter along with salt & cinnamon (if using).  Stir in flour, then chocolate chips & nuts until just combined.
  • Make large spoonfuls (about 2 tbsp) & place on parchment paper on cookie sheet.  Bake 11-13min or until no longer gooey.

We love these warm with a glass of milk!

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2013 1:00 pm

    You had me at cinnamon. I’m totally making these tonight! 🙂

  2. August 21, 2013 1:21 pm

    So glad I stumbled upon this recipe as I was gearing up to make chocolate chip cookies the other night. I had always relied on the recipe on the chocolate chip bag – never again! These were so perfectly sweet & chewy, and stayed nice and round. I made some with chocolate chips, and some with butterscotch chips (no nuts), and they were the best I’ve ever made. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! -Laura from the Seasoned Traveler

  3. January 12, 2015 3:08 pm

    Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your webloog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing yohr blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed aand I hope you write once more very soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Winter Oatmeal (pears, cranberries & walnuts) | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  3. Cadbury Mini Egg Chocolate Cookies | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  4. summer eats. | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

