Skip to content

Spotlight: Pawley’s Island

August 5, 2013

I’m beginning to really love the south. Which is a good thing since I live in it now.

pawleys salt marsh

When I began 2012, I had no foresight to how interesting crazy 2013 would be. They say the life given to you is much better than the life you would’ve planned.  Testing that theory.

My unplanned life gave my family July off.  “Off” as in unemployed & homeless. Gypsy life, we called it.

My husband, daughter & I spent a week in Pawley’s Island, South Carolina with my in-laws.  Pawley’s is a very small beach / island located in Georgetown County, SC; about 20 – 30min south of Myrtle Beach and just shy of 90min north of Charleston. A quiet, little hidden gem.

waves pawleys

It’s a special place for my hubby and I because we visited Pawleys together about 7 yrs ago. BC & BM…before children & before marriage. On that trip, we stayed on a plantation, and it was so lovely. We were so sad to learn it is no longer open, especially because they served awesome breakfasts. Lovely pics of the Litchfield Plantation via 7 yrs ago anyway…

litchfield plantation lr

pawley's beach lr

A week in Pawley’s is probably similar to most beach vacations. Spend as much sun time as you can handle on the beach, basically. There is some great kayaking, deep sea fishing or the “normal” fishing off the shore or marsh, bike riding, walking on the beach & searching for shells, enjoying a couple’s massage, drinking.  They call it relaxation.

pawley's view

If you have a toddler, then your vacation may also include a trip to an aquarium (there was one in Myrtle Beach) or visiting some playgrounds. I had my “I’m a mom” moment when we visited these cute little shops merely for the swing set, sigh.  At least she’s cute.

We flew into Charleston, but technically the Myrtle Beach airport is closer. Our trip included layovers, boo.  Flying with a toddler is exhausting.  Or, maybe it is just flying with my toddler is exhausting.  Refer to my earlier comment about her being cute.

airport with toddlers

Because we stayed in a rental house right in the beach, we ate at home a lot.  My preference, no doubt, although I did enjoy the most fabulous scallops here & tried some okra & collard greens via take-out.  Husband caught a red fish, which he (experimented with) filleting & we subsequently grilled for dinner. Since the trip, I’ve tried cooking grits…can’t say I’m a fan of that dish quite yet.

fishing pawleys

All in all, we had a great trip; I think you can see why. Add it to your list of places to visit.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2013 3:44 pm

    Looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

