Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Skillet Cookie

September 23, 2013

chocolate chip skillet cookie

Happy Monday!  I believe a little chocolate can improve any day (even Monday) or spirit (even mine lately).  It’s science…some marketing people did all these studies to prove it.

skillet cookie slice

Since I have to limit my activity via doctor’s orders, I can’t cook much.  No elaborate meal-making or experimenting unless I can basically open it & put it in the oven.  Naturally, this is dampening my spirits.  Enter, chocolate chip skillet cookie.

Not exactly 1-step cookie, but close enough.  Wouldn’t we make more homemade cookies, like this one, if the cookies took a little less time & required less clean-up?  I would.

choc chip skillet cookie bw

I love this cookie recipe because it has a fast, easy prep all in 1 pan (the cast iron skillet!). Seriously.

My daughter was not happy about waiting for me to take a picture of the cookie (look at those sad eyes), even though it was too hot to eat yet (or cut evenly but try explaining that to a 1-year-old).

addie skillet cookie

And then it was hard to resist her asking for “more cookie please” in that sweet little voice.  We solved that problem by eating half the cookie right away…pretty sure it won’t take long to finish it off.

chocolate chip skillet

I keep meaning to make this cookie with peanut butter chips, nuts or M&Ms.  I’ll get around to it eventually, but this standard chocolate chip recipe is hard to resist!

Ingredients

1 stick butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
pinch of cinnamon, optional & to taste
1 cup chocolate chips, or to taste

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt butter in 10″ cast iron skillet (or other oven-proof pan) over low heat.  Remove from heat & rest for a couple minutes (you don’t want the pan to be too hot when you add the egg).
  • Stir in sugars with a fork.  Beat in egg & mix well.  Stir in vanilla.
  • Place flour, baking soda, salt & cinnamon (if using) into skillet.  (You can mix this in a separate bowl, if desired.)  Carefully stir dry ingredients into wet, adding chocolate chips once it begins to look like dough. Make sure dough is evenly spread across skillet (this step will take a few minutes).
  • Bake 18-25min, or until cookie is golden on top & cooked through.  (Baking time can vary – it took 22min in my oven.  It may take more or less time depending on your pan size, too.)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    October 2, 2013 10:49 pm

    Hi Laura,
    My name is Stacey, I wked w/ your husband @ SMSC. I love reading your posts & seeing all the pics. I wked with G pa today and all he could talk abt was the boys, today is the day….! I hope all is well for you and your beautiful family.

Trackbacks

  1. (the 4th trimester) Surviving Twins | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious
  2. Peanut Butter Skillet Cookie | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

