Skip to content

(a few of my) favorite things (food, etc)…

February 20, 2014

Let’s talk about our favorite things! I love this conversation because I learn/find something new.

So, first, let me share my favorite pantry staples…

San Marzano tomatoes

San Marzano tomatoes are a plum tomato from a specific region Italy. I went to a cooking class and the chef raved for days about San Marzano tomatoes so I haven’t gone back since. Look for this variety when making tomato sauces & soups, like this, when the tomato flavor is important (not necessary in chili, for instance).

Squeeze Garlic

garlic

Um, yeah, why didn’t they do this years ago? I’m a big proponent of chopping the real thing, but I’m often always short on time so this garlic is great to have on-hand. Spice World also makes minced roasted garlic…all over it.

Ghirardelli chocolate chips

semisweet_design_nonat_hi

If you’re going to make something sweet, might as well have the real thing. These semi-sweet chocolate chips are a standard in all my sweet recipes.

Pot-Size Pasta

pot-size pasta mue

You know, 3/4 of people break their spaghetti before cooking it. So why not make it half length?  Sounds easy enough.

Not too long ago I was in he working world (sigh, missing those days) where I spent two years developing this idea. Much more complicated than you would think (seriously). But the product is finally on the market, yay! I get super excited every time I see it on the shelf. Available in many store brands (like Great Value) & the regional brands of Mueller’s, Anthony’s & others.

Smoked cheddar

Adds a nice deep flavor to many dishes. You don’t need a lot, but mix in a little to give your egg casserole or chili something special.

Lets also talk about our favorite snacks. (Why not?)

DrizzBlackWhite

Capital obsessed with this Popcorn Indiana Drizzled Black & White popcorn. I’ve been known to finish whole bags in 3 days. There’s a bag in my pantry that my husband just opened…serious test of will power.

Along these lines, I love these chocolate covered pretzels. Y-u-m.

Non-chocolate related, I have been enjoying this Soothing Caramel Bedtime tea. Add a little honey or sugar – perfect bedtime ritual. Probably healthier than the wine I was enjoying occasionally before bed.

Yogi-Bedtime-Herbal-Tea-Caffeine-Free-Soothing-Caramel-076950203532

Loving CoffeeMate’s Peppermint Mocha creamer that a friend introduced me to.  It’s apparently seasonal, darn.

Always been a fan of Archer Farms salsa. So many great varieties to choose from.

Favorite kitchen equipment. Sure, why not…I LOVE my Dutch oven, as those around know how often I use it. Soups, chili, roasts – so many uses.

bowl of chilli

I also just got a 11 cup Cuisinart food processor that I love. Works like a charm. I’ve been obsessed with making peanut butter in it recently (normal?).

peanut butter homemade lr

I have 3 mini serving spatulas. So much more handy than a large one. But I’m also obsessed with small cooking equipment.

Non-food related, while we are talking favorites…

Love the VSCO Cam app.  It makes editing pics fun & pretty, like this.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Frequent user of Amazon Prime. So easy to compare prices, shipping is free & fast.

Listening to Mat Kearney on our Google Play.  “Where we gonna go from here…”

Loving the new GapFit clothing. Because I live in work-out clothes (don’t interpret this to mean I’m working out).

That’s it for now…let’s hear your favorites!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2014 11:13 pm

    So many to choose from. I have been loving cheese. Cheddar varieties and anything else the cheese lady at Hy-Vee recommends. Really liking the brand Sartori. Also love Pretzel Thins and Yummy’s cheese nuggets. I have (embarrassingly) added them to everything this week and had to buy another container.
    Got into Perrier when pregnant with Juliet. Now I am still obsessed. Loving hot toddies. And really not sure how I didn’t discover them earlier in life.
    Super love Tommy saying, “Thank you, Mama, for…” and Juliet screeching (happily) like a dinosaur. I could go on because I also LOVE making love lists. And I love reading your blog. It is definitely on my love list.

Trackbacks

  1. A few of my favorite things… | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

