Skip to content

Shrimp with Whole Wheat Pasta & Peas

August 4, 2014

Hi.

ww pasta shrimp with name

I’ve been meaning to say hello, share a recipe but life has been busy. BUSY, busy. Moving, (my brother’s) wedding, life in general with 3 kids 2 & under. Phew. I’m tired & happy just thinking of the past 2 months.

The Happe wedding.

matt erika reception

Just happy.

You know how recipes remind you of a time or place? I love those. Food tied to memories are always a good great thing in my book.

This pasta recipe will always remind me of Birmingham. I first made it there & continued to make it while living there. It seems appropriate to share since I just packed up our rental & said goodbye to that crazy year.  Also sounds about right that it took me 6 wks to post from when I actually made it.

Shrimp Whole wheat pasta & peas on Enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

But here it is. It’s healthy and all the flavors blend so well together (whole grain pasta + Parmesan + walnuts). I would actually call it a quick meal, if you time the order right.

(This is what I do: bring a pot of water to boil first. Meanwhile, toast bread crumbs in pan. Set aside & then toast walnuts in the same pan. Shred Parmesan cheese during this time & preheat a large skillet. After these things are done, begin cooking pasta; cook peas with pasta by adding during the last few min of cooking.  Simultaneously while pasta is cooking, season shrimp & cook.  Add the cooked pasta/peas to the cooked shrimp; then toss with bread crumbs, cheese & walnuts. Stir in additional pasta cooking liquid as needed. Serve immediately. Err, that is wordy but it will make sense when you go to make this recipe. It may take a time or two to time it right; totally worth it.)

ww shrimp

I didn’t share a whole lot of recipes this past year. I suppose that I shared any at all (e.g. stayed alive) is somewhat of a miracle. I was lucky to have a super involved husband & lots of trips from some pretty awesome family members, especially my mom.

Shrimp Whole wheat pasta & peas on Enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

Now, the kiddos & I are shacking up with my parents for a few months while my husband trains in France. I can honestly say, as a married woman with 3 kids, I never thought I’d ever again be living with my parents. Well.

Life it cute.

It’s actually going pretty good. It’s kind of like an iron chef cooking competition that involves new unique ingredient requirements (e.g. No hot spices for my mom, a certain number of side dishes for my dad) while those 3 kids steal any possible time to cook.

Shrimp Whole wheat pasta & peas on Enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

We’ll see what I can come up with over the next few months.  For now, I’ll just be glad that this recipe came to be.  Thanks, Birmingham.

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil
1/3 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
8oz whole grain spaghetti or angel hair pasta
1 cup frozen peas
1 tbsp olive oil + 2 tbsp butter
12oz raw & devained medium shrimp, thawed
Salt & pepper, to taste
3 cloves minced garlic
1/2 cup freshly shredded Parmesan Reggiano cheese

Directions

  • Bring pot of water to a boil.  (Be sure to salt it!)
  • Toast bread crumbs: heat a small skillet to medium. Add 1 tbsp of olive oil & bread crumbs. Toss bread crumbs in skillet for 2 min or until browned. Set aside.
  • Toast walnuts: heat a small skillet to medium. Add walnuts and stir occasionally until walnuts become fragrant, about 8 min. (Just don’t forget about them or they will burn; you can also toast in the oven.)  Set aside.
  • Cook pasta according to package directions. Add peas to the last 4 min of cooking. Reserve 1/2 cup of cooking liquid.
  • Meanwhile, heat olive oil & butter in a large skillet over med. Season shrimp with salt & pepper. Add garlic & shrimp to skillet & cook until shrimp are pink (this should only take a few min).  Reduce to med-low heat.
  • Drain pasta & peas (reserving some pasta water) and add to skillet with shrimp.  Toss in bread crumbs & Parmesan. (I usually add about 1/4 cup of the pasta water to  loosen the sauce. You can add more or less or even drizzle with additional olive oil.)  Season as needed & serve immediately.

*You can easily add more or less cheese, walnuts or peas.  Some ripe cherry tomatoes would be delicious on top, too!

Shrimp Whole wheat pasta & peas on Enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2014 12:36 am

    This looks and sounds delicious!

  2. August 9, 2014 8:53 pm

    looks delish!

Leave a Reply

