Skip to content

Homemade Roasted Salsa (for my husband)

September 1, 2014

Roasted salsa by enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

Do you ever think back to the previous year to fully appreciate how much time can change things? Last September, I was on bedrest in AL trying not to meet my two little boys. Not moving, not sleeping, not cooking.

Feels like a lifetime ago.  Which isn’t the worst thing considering how I felt.

Not that I’m cooking a whole lot nowadays. I can list 75 uninteresting reasons as to why, mostly relating to diapers & laundry. But when I have time, I do like to make things people really like.

matt addie lotawana bw

For my husband, that means salsa. I’ve made (versions of) this roasted salsa at least a dozen times this summer. It doesn’t last long when he’s around.

roasting tomatoes for salsa

It seems appropriate to share this now that my husband just departed for Lyon, France for the next few months.  Oh, and today is his birthday! It’s an awesome opportunity (follow his blog & experiences here!) and I’m so happy for him. (Happy for me, too, because I’m going to visit, yay!  Thanks, Mimi:)

Lots of things to experiment with making salsa. Looking forward to making much more for my husband in our future.

Happy birthday, honey.

roasted  on enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

Ingredients

6-8 medium tomatoes, chopped, seeds partially removed
1-2 jalapeños, sliced, seeds removed (or keep some!)
1 small onion (yellow or red), chopped
3-4 garlic cloves (peels on)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp cumin
2 tsp sugar
Optional: chili powder, squeeze of lime juice, cayenne pepper, Tabasco sauce, 1 tbsp of diced raw onion. chopped cilantro or parsley

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.

Layer tomatoes, jalapeños, onion & garlic on cookie sheet (veggies should cover the full pan). Drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt, pepper & cumin.

Bake on middle rack for 10-12 min. Move sheet to top rack and broil for 4-5 min (til you can see tomatoes & onions are browning nicely!).

Allow pan to cool slightly, peel garlic, & then pulse mixture in food processor or blender until desisted consistency is reached. Add sugar and additional seasonings as desired!

Roasted salsa by enjoylifeitsdelicious.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2014 7:49 pm

    Yum! BTW, Amy and I have mentioned your pb&j cake at almost every dinner. (hint, hint, hint)

Trackbacks

  1. Summer’s reflection. | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

