Skip to content

Homemade Tomato Soup

January 31, 2015

Hiiii.  From Kansas City.  We are (almost) home & it feels so good.  We are getting closer to normal & routine.  The boring, nothing-exciting-to-talk-about-life.

Not that my life is talk-worthy, not to confuse you.  It’s just been, well, chaotic.

pot of tomato

It’s all relative, though, right?  Relative, like I’m living with my in-laws, and the relative to what we’re comparing.  In other words, life.

boys piano lr bw

My boys have reached the absolutely adorable phase.  My daughter turned 3 last month, but sometimes I wonder if she turned 10.

addie princess

And, I’m looking for a job (!).  One outside the home because, let’s be real, this stay-at-home-mom job is wayyy harder.  Afternoon soap operas and mani-pedi’s, ha!  It’s more tiring, too, and I’m still trying to figure out how that is so.

The *important* news is that I am getting my own house, my own kitchen, next month!  I’ve been busy looking for inspiration for decorating this lovely thing I will call home & it’s been so incredibly exciting.  I can’t wait to share some of this news because I’m literally shopping everywhere: Crate & Barrel to Wayfair to Ikea to local KC shops.  And, our usual stops: Target & Costco.  And, Amazon, of course.

tomato soup v2

Part of this new routine means I’m cooking more.  I love making this tomato soup, so I wanted to share it (again).  It’s just a staple.  I’m on this Herbes de Provence kick, but I often use basil or Italian seasonings.  Sometimes I add a little bit of V8 juice or crushed red pepper; I adjust the half-&-half to meet the consistency I want.  The finishing oil is a new (& great) addition to serving the soup.

Enjoy!

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil
1 med yellow onion, chopped
3 med carrots, chopped
3 celery, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1-2 tsp Herbes de Provence (basil or Italian seasoning blend)
Salt & pepper, to taste
1 28oz can San Marzano whole peeled tomatoes
1 can fire-‐roasted tomatoes
2-3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 tbsp tomato paste
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp fresh, chopped parsley
1 – 2 cups half-&-half, to desired consistency
Optional: shredded Parmesan cheese, Garlic or Tuscan-flavored Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Directions

  • In a dutch oven, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, celery & carrot, cook until soft, about 10 min. Add garlic & seasonings; cook 1 min longer.
  • Add tomatoes, broth & tomato paste.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat & simmer 30-­40 min. Using an immersion blender, puree mixture until mostly smooth.
  • Add half & half, additional seasonings, sugar & Parsley, as needed, & serve with Parmesan cheese &/or olive oil on top.

Homemade tomato soup

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2015 11:41 am

    Need to add Herbs de Provence to my shopping list!

Trackbacks

  1. Soup time of year | Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a Reply

