Skip to content

A few of my favorite things…

February 6, 2015

grenache grapes

It’s that time again…time to talk about our favorite things!  It’s been awhile, so let’s discuss what we love!  I love this conversation!  And explanation points, apparently!  !!!

There seems to be a theme with many of mine.  Not too surprisingly, my French vacations have rubbed off on me considerably.  Not a bad thing, I just didn’t realize this would be the case 4 months later.  Oui.

france champagne

First, ahem, the wine.  90% of what I’m buying is French wine.  My main love is the grenache grape, so delicious.  It’s actually a Spanish grape, and it’s found in the Chateauneauf-du-Pape region red wines.  I love most Cotes du Rhone wines, but the CdP wines are my favorite (I blame the grenache).  Get yourself some!

french cheese

Cheese.  You probably saw that one coming.  My 3 current favorites: Toscano (I think this is exclusive to Trader Joe’s, coming in black pepper, cinnamon dusted and Merlot…all yummy!), Triple Cream (because single and double just isn’t enough) & Sartori MontAmore.  So.  Good.

Herbes de Provence.  Yes, Provence is the most lovely place on earth.  No, there’s nothing too spectacular about this dried spice blend (thyme, marjoram, rosemary, oregano, savory and sometimes lavender), except that I have found a way to put it on everything.  Soups, eggs, veggies, meat.  I’m not the only one who thinks so.

Coffee.  I have 3 kids, no explanation needed.

coffee in france

Okay, so let’s talk about the non-French loves of my life….first, I am having lots and lots of english muffins for breakfast.  Not to be confused with real muffins, lesson learned via my daughter.  No, I’m referring to the “round breads.”  If I’m not making an egg sandwich, then I’m topping them with peanut butter & honey, butter & brown sugar, peanut butter & jelly along with some chopped pecans, or nutella.  Filling and delicious.

Hard Boiled Eggs.  I’m working on perfecting my boiling method.  I’ve made enough, Lord knows I should have figured this out by now.  If I do, I’ll share.  Great for a quick breakfast or snack, for us and the kids.

How about some non-food favorites?!

Music-related, I’ve been listening to a lot of Sam Smith and Ed Sheeran.  Love, love.

Since I don’t know what going to the gym is like, I have been working out to T25 two or 3 times a week at home.  It’s tough but it’s only 25 minutes.  Good enough for me.

I’m reading the Bible and French Kids Eat Everything.  The first, well, because I feel better when I do.  The second: I refuse to believe I’ll have picky eaters.  Things got a little out of hand when the twins were born (hard to imagine, right), so we move into our new home next month, which means new routine.  I keep warning my daughter…wish me luck.

Speaking of my new home…words cannot express my excitement for my new house kitchen.  It’s going to be perfect.

my kitchen lr

50 shades of gray.  I’ve always been obsessed with the color gray (rumor has it I have worn gray on gray once or twice).  Finally, when it comes to decorating, I’ve been able to let my inner gray come to life.  The silver shades are hot on my purchase list.  I’m working on a purple/silver theme for my daughter’s room (with the request for some yellow).

So, that’s it for now.  Have a great weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

