Skip to content

Festive fragrance (mulled spices)

December 3, 2015

Let’s talk about making your home smell delightful.  Since I can’t have ornaments on my tree or anything where a child can reach something, I can at least have my house smell nice.

mulled spices

I started doing this 2 years ago when we lived in Alabama.  Two years that feels like 5. The air in our townhouse always felt dry and I had twin newborns.  Insert visual of me unable to go anywhere with an increased paranoia of everyone getting sick so humidifiers all around.

Fast forward to today: another newborn, more humidifiers & we’re stuck inside.  Might as well have a nice fragrance.

It’s so easy; I should pretend it’s more complicated.

Who am I kidding – it must be easy to be included in my life.

Add orange peel, cinnamon sticks & whole cloves to a pot with several cups of water.  Bring to a boil, simmer for a couple hours.  Enjoy.

That’s it, really.  You can add allspice, peppercorns, cranberries or other citrus rinds.  The 3 ingredient spice combo works for me.

Now, back to the important things, like deciding how to get large boxes…because my kids don’t play with actual toys.

boxes

The important things like making cookies and watching Christmas movies.  And easing back into the end of maternity leave, the real world.

Wishing you all a happy holidays with many memories, large boxes and good smells.

mulled spices

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment