Skip to content

Oven-Ready Lasagna

January 30, 2011
tags: ,

What’s not to love about lasagna?  It never disappoints…saucy, cheesy (in my case, spicy) deliciousness.  I have discovered a secret ingredient for my lasagna recipe, too.  I substitute one of the middle meat sauce layers with Alfredo or Vodka pasta sauce.  It just seems to elevate the dish.  You should try it.

A quick explanation on the difference between regular lasagna & “oven-ready” lasagna.  Basically, oven-ready means you don’t have to cook the pasta before layering & baking it.  That’s why it is sometimes called no-boil lasagna.  It is also usually a bit thinner so it doesn’t have to be cooked before baking.  You can turn any recipe into a “no-boil” recipe though.  Simply add an extra cup or so of sauce and lengthen the cook time by 10 or 15 min.  This will give the pasta enough time to cook in the oven.

Most people use ricotta cheese in their lasagna recipes.  It overwhelms the dish in my opinion, so I use cottage cheese.  I mix grated parmesan with the cottage cheese together, and that’s the only cheese layered in the dish.  Until the provolone topping, that is, another requirement.  With a few minutes of baking remaining, I layer slices of provolone on top & cook until bubbly.

As you will learn, I usually cook with ground turkey and not ground beef.  It may take a meal or 2 to get used to the texture, but it doesn’t matter in most dishes, including lasagna (in my opinion).  I always cook an onion with the meat, and sometimes I layer in some extra vegetables (such as fresh spinach or cooked red pepper).

This one takes awhile but it will be worth the effort!  Or try my short-cut Skillet Lasagna.

Ingredients

1 LB ground turkey (or beef)
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jar pasta sauce + 1 cup water
salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, oregano to taste
2 cups cottage cheese
1 cup Parmesan cheese
2 eggs, slightly beaten
Oven-ready lasagna
1 1/2 cups Alfredo or Vodka pasta sauce
Provolone cheese, sliced or shredded

Directions

  • In a large skillet, cook meat & onion until meat is brown.  Add garlic, pasta sauce, water & seasonings to taste; stir & heat through.
  • Meanwhile, combine eggs, cottage cheese & Parmesan cheese in a separate bowl.  Mix well.
  • Evenly spread 1/3 of the meat sauce along the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.  Top with lasagna noodles, half the cottage cheese mixture and 1/3 of the meat sauce.
  • Layer lasagna noodles, Alfredo or Vodka sauce & then remaining cottage cheese mixture.
  • Top with one more layer of noodles & remaining sauce; cover tightly with foil.
  • Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 60 min.  Remove foil, top with provolone cheese and cook for an additional 5 – 10 min, or until cheese is bubbly.  Let stand 10 min & serve.

Because it’s just the two of us, I sometimes make this in a smaller dish and reduce ingredients accordingly (hence the picture).

Enjoy!  Printer-friendly recipe here Oven-Ready Lasagna

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    January 30, 2011 10:03 pm

    Looks positively Delicious!!!!!

    • Johnk136 permalink
      June 22, 2014 8:05 am

      Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. Ill make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return. ebeddkdgcedb

  2. Kathy permalink
    January 30, 2011 10:04 pm

    Looks positively delicious!!!!!!!

  3. Lauren Hughey permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:38 pm

    Looks great! So glad to know you have started this! I’ll be checking in on all this deliciousness….. 🙂

  4. February 2, 2011 12:05 am

    That photo made me hungry!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  5. Jessi Corriston permalink
    February 3, 2011 7:29 pm

    I LOVE your blog! Now I just have to search around here to find out how to subscribe so I can read it all the time! We should do something fun for our classy fondue night next week! Can’t wait!

    • Jessi Corriston permalink
      February 3, 2011 7:30 pm

      Ah ha! (I had to reply to subscribe!)

    • February 5, 2011 7:16 pm

      Thank you:-) Looking forward to fondue night!

  6. February 7, 2011 7:34 am

    This is exactly the kind of recipe I have been looking for. Thank You!

  7. Jessica Happe permalink
    February 10, 2011 9:36 pm

    OMG, I made this tonight and it is YUMMY! I used the Alfredo sauce this time. Took a long time to make but it was well worth it. I used dried minced onions and left out the crushed red pepper (because I didn’t have any). This is a winner recipe and can’t wait to make another recipe!

    • February 10, 2011 9:51 pm

      Wonderful…I kind of figured you would leave out the crushed red pepper:-) It may take a long time but you have dinner for at least a couple days, right?! Curious, do you use ground turkey or beef? I’m guessing beef…

  8. Jessica Happe permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:16 am

    I used lean turkey. And yes, dinner for a few days!

  9. stephanie permalink
    February 22, 2011 11:35 am

    thank you! thank you!! i tried this recipe on a houseful of guests with varying tastes and palates…and it was a roaring success! i had only one small lasagna square left after dinner… indeed a sign of a thoroughly enjoyed meal. and neil ate that for breakfast yesterday 🙂 it was SO good… and easy, too!

  10. February 14, 2014 3:08 pm

    Great idea with the cottage cheese. We make a Mac and Cheese with cottage cheese, and no one knows what’s in it. Plus, they all rave about how “fattening” it must be cause it’s so tasty. LOL! Your lasagna looks fabulouly rich and tasty!

  11. October 7, 2014 3:18 pm

    Fini d’attendre longs instant que les parties réapparaissent
    sur votre cansy crush, à partir de maintenant avec ce programme Crossfire Triche
    c’est ridiculeusement facile de jouer à Crossfire Triche.

  12. Nicholas permalink
    July 6, 2015 8:30 pm

    Hello, Laura! I came across your blog while I was doing an image search for lasagna. I am a freelance designer and I recently graduated from university. I am working on a website for a client in Chicago and I was wondering if I could use one of your images here, free of charge. Please send me an email! Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Skillet Lasagna « Enjoy Life, It's Delicious

Leave a comment